Oven Baked Jambalaya Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2015
Recipe was very tasty though too spicy. I changed the serving to 4 so maybe there was an issue in the conversion. Or perhaps it was the Creole seasoning mix I was using. Anyway I would make this recipe again though with half the seasoning. My husband enjoyed the dish and he normally doesn't like rice based dishes. I cooked it on the stove instead of in the oven so I could have more control over the doneness of the rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2015
This was very tasty, I did cook the rice separate which was tasty but think I may try it in the dish the next time. Also while jambalaya is spicy if you don't like any spice leaving the rice out would help curve the heat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stacie King

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2015
It was the most disgusting dish I have ever had.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2015
Made the recipe as is. Loved it! Will definitely make it again. Other reviewers have said it was difficult, or time consuming. Compared to other recipes, I didn't think so at all. Plus, it made a huge batch, so I was able to freeze some for another future dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2015
I give this 5 stars for flavor. I made the creole seasoning which was perfect! I added 2 more green peppers to which thank goodness I did! Next time I make this I will only put in 2 cups of rice, as all the rice absorbed to much of the juice. I will certainly make this again, but only with 2, maybe.....2 1/2 cups rice tops.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cudahy, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Sugar Grove, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2015
This was GREAT! I wanted a much smaller batch, however, and when I decreased the servings it became very difficult, so I made it using the following quantities, and it is about right for four people: 3 heaping tablespoons butter 1 large onion, diced 2 stalks chopped celery 1 tblspn minced garlic 1 16 oz can tomato sauce 1 16 oz can diced tomatoes 1 cup chopped ham 4 Italian sausages, peeled, split, sliced 1/2". I used mild. 1 13 oz can cooked chicken breast meat 1 14.5 oz can chicken stock 1 cup frozen shrimp 1 1/2 cups uncooked rice. 1 1/2 tsp Worcestershire sauce 1 1/2 tsp Creole seasoning 1 bay leaf I did not have any green pepper, so skipped that. I made my creole seasoning per the footnoted recipe, but HALFED the black, white and cayenne pepper because my better half does not like things too hot. I sautéed in a regular baking pan per directions, then add the other ingredients to that pan, put the lid on and baked as directed. Wife LOVED this, and I am making it again for our next family get-together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2015
Absolutely loved it! Will make again. Cooked it for 2 hrs in a gas stove & stirred well twice. Used emeril's bayou seasoning. Great recipe. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jamie Zeien

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Shenika Denise Thomas
Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2015
The only thing I changed was not add chicken. But the recipe for this dish is delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2014
will never make it again and cannot recommend it at all. I made the spice mix as per instructions on the site and cooked it as per instructions. Tastes terrible and glutinous.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marie Thuresson

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2014
Two stars for flavor and ingredients but too much work just to have good rice and still have it almost/too done. I will make the rice separate then mix it and cook stew on the stove.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bilan Pbb Evans

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 287) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Easy Cajun Jambalaya

A simple jambalaya with chicken and kielbasa and a kick that won’t overpower.

Oven Baked Chicken Teriyaki

Simple, saucy chicken teriyaki that you bake in the oven.

Jambalaya

See how to make a spicy jambalaya with chicken and andouille sausage.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States