Oven Baked Jambalaya Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by JOSLYN H.
Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2005
Greetings all! :-) Thank you for trying my recipe, and for your reviews. Some have commented on the rice being under cooked, or mushy, and I'd like to address that issue. When I say stir half way through, please be sure to stir completely, from the bottom up and all around the sides. Oven temperatures very dramatically and not everyone has the same type of cookware. For my old oven, and the very large enameled roaster pan I use, the rice did cook correctly. I recently purchased a new gas stove and nothing cooks the same (wish I had my old stove back...LOL). It now takes 1 3/4 to 2 hours in my new oven. With this in mind, I suggest checking the rice more often during the baking time, or adjusting the cooking time and/or temperature to suit your oven and cookware. If you cut the recipe amounts by half, please remember to adjust the cooking time too. While cooking, the rice will absorb some of the spices; therefore the finished dish will not taste as spicy as it does before cooking. The amount of spices listed is for those with average tolerance for spice. Feel free to use more, or less, to suit your taste. Traditionally Jambalaya has more of a porridge consistency; therefore the rice will absorb most of the juices. If you prefer fluffy rice, surely you can cook the rice separately. If you like a soupy consistency, you can use less rice. This recipe can also be prepared in a large stockpot, on the stove top, if you prefer. I find it scorches easier though, so watch it closely.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
235 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2005
PLEASE READ REVIEW BEFORE PREPARING THIS DISH!!!!! This is a first for me all across the board. The first recipe I prepared from Allrecipes.com. The first time I made any type of Creole dish. The first time I joined Allrecipe.com and my first review,(note I joined just to do the review for this dish!!!). Okay most reviews praise this dish a few say mush, so I was a little leary upon preparing this item. I gave a taste to one of my guest who is from a small town near New Orleans. He said excellent - the only thing the rice wasn't cook all the way & to take the tails of the shrimp but said it was the best. This is a dish that I would advise that you prepare a day before so that the uncooked rice will balance and the flavor will develope. Also the recipe was vauge regarding the juice of the whole tomatoes. I decided not to add the juice which paid off with it being more "ricey" versus "tomatoey". During the over baking when I stired up the mix I added more creole seasoning(about a tbl spoon), tabasco, fila powder and a 1/4 cup of butter (basically three spats equal to a 1/4 a cup). In doing so this became the dish of the evening - I never had so many people ask for my recipe. If you can buy a creole season blend - DO IT to make the season mix unless you already have most of the spices it will cost you a FORTUNE!!! In closing, this dish was well worth doing. 1000 praises for a dish well done. Thank you Joslyn H.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
175 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2003
I have never even eaten jambalaya before, but my husband loves it, so I gave this a try. YUM! Oh my goodness, this is good. If you're wondering just how big a pan you need, I halved the recipe because it's just the two of us and it just BARELY fit in a 9X13 baking pan. I also used your recipe for the creole seasonings, instead of buying ready-made seasonings, and they were wonderful as well. My husband was ecstatic that I was able to make this for him. I used little beef smokies for the sausage as another reviewer suggested. Also, I didn't have the stock, so I just used chicken broth instead and it worked just fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
73 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Juneau, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2006
Oh yes! I've never made Jambalaya before but I will be making it now. I read a couple of Jambalaya recipes on this site but chose this one because it cooked in the oven once the prep work was done. This dish was so rich...and satisfying! Scaled the recipe by half, had plenty for dinner, 4 lunches, and some in the freezer. Read all the reviews and changed a few things based on the experience and sharing of others. 1. I cooked my rice separately glad I did because the broth was so good. I do think 2 cups of uncooked rice is too much to cook in the dish based on the broth I ended up with. 2. Added one bay leaf. 3. Added one king crab leg from Costco. 4. I did make the seasoning blend and it was great. Only made 1/2 and still have plenty left over for other dishes. 5. I put my chicken thighs in raw and it worked like a champ. I did remove the skin and bones after they cooked. 6. Used ½ butter and olive oil for the sautéing of the veggies. 7. I added raw shrimp along with their "broth" during the last 15 minutes of cooking so they would be tender. 8. I think the most important thing was that I sautéed the tomato paste for a while. It must act as a roux. The only thing I may do differently next time is to sauté the sausage to render some of the fat. Mine was slightly greasy and I to de-fat, however it was tasty fat. Great recipe Joslyn H. and thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Nagoya, Aichi, Japan
Living In: Detroit, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2004
This was good. I just threw everything into the slow cooker except the rice, let it cook for a couple of hours, added the rice and cooked until the rice was done.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wilemon

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Afton, Virginia, USA
Living In: Larkspur, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2003
OUTSTANDING!!!! Easy and delicious. I cut the recipe in half and fed my family of 5 with enough leftover for lunch for my husband and myself.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2003
This was great, my husband loved it. It took a little longer to cook. Next time I will cut down on the rice and cook it separately to add to individual bowls. With the rice cooked in, it was not good as leftovers, the rice soaked up all the juices. Otherwise it was great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2002
Great Dish for a CROWD! This makes a huge roaster pan full of Jambalaya. Your guest will not be disapointed at all! Very easy to make and it cooks in the oven for less of a hassel. I will be doing this again for every potluck and family event I attend. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FERBONIA

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Modesto, California, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2001
Great recipe....very LARGE recipe...recommend mixing this up in a VERY LARGE roaster. Next time I would half or quarter it. Too much for just me and my husband - kids wouldnt touch it! 1st time I made jambalaya and would use it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2011
Good basic recipe for this Paul Prudhomme classic. Use converted rice so it cooks fully and dosn't over cook the sea food in the prescribed baking time.If you check out Pauls recipe, thats what he uses. You can use regular rice if you exclude the seafood. Made this every day at an oyster bar down south and it transfers well to catering large groups, or bringing out to hunting camp. Try your own spice blend though and I bet you will like it even better. Best served the next day and freezes very well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 276) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Easy Cajun Jambalaya

A simple jambalaya with chicken and kielbasa and a kick that won’t overpower.

Oven Baked Chicken Teriyaki

Simple, saucy chicken teriyaki that you bake in the oven.

Jambalaya

See how to make a spicy jambalaya with chicken and andouille sausage.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States