Oven Baked Jambalaya Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2009
Never had Jambalaya before so not sure what it's supposed taste like but this was very good. I added my chicken and sausage in raw and added the raw shrimp in the last 15 minutes of cooking. Everything cooked perfectly, I'd think the meat would be way too dried out if you pre-cook them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dearborn, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2009
Fantastic recipe! It feeds an army so be prepared. I made the cajun seasoning recommended and put in 1/2 the cayenne due to small children. It still had a great flavor and enough kick but not overwhelming. I also used Aidells Cajun Sausage and it was a nice addition. This is definitely a favorite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2009
This was very good. I've never had jambalaya before and I really, really liked this. I put too much rice in this so next time I'll use a little bit less.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Santa Clara, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2009
I recently made this for my (sometimes picky) family of 6 and my father-in-law. I started on the stove top, but then transferred everything to the crock pot (thawed shrimp went in during last 10-minutes or so). I made the rice separately. It was put on the table and boy did they eat! There was just enough left to send some home with Dad and still have about 3-4 bowls left for next day's lunch. It's been about 3 weeks since I made it and I'm still getting raves and requests for more! Can't wait to bring it to a holiday pot-luck! Thanks for a great recipe Joslyn.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2009
Very Good Followed Recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2009
From Louisiana and have had trouble in the past with rice cooking in huge stockpot. Other than substituing out the andouille (since I can't get it in DC), I followed this recipe, cooking in Calphalon turkey roaster. Did prepwork in roaster across two burners on stove, covered it and shoved it in the oven. Set my timer and started drinking...didn't touch it for 90 mins. It was PERFECT.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2009
I have been dying to make this, but I wanted to wait for my cousin (who lived in New Orleans) to come over. Tonight was the night, and it was a HUGE hit. I did make a few changes. First I only used 1.5 cans of tomatoes since others were saying it was too "tomato-y". Next I used 6 cups of rice ( I knew everyone in my family loved rice, and this worked out perfect for us) Since I didn’t use all the tomato juice I added 2 more cups of stock. I also added the shrimp (raw) 12 min before it was finished. It came out AMAZING even my cousin loved it. I had A LOT left over, I fed 7 at dinner, and had more than enough to feed 10 at work. I will be making this often. Thanks a bunch!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs. D

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2009
I made this recipe for my husbands potluck luncheon at work. I used 6 bayleafs, twice the amount of Creole seasoning and one can of petite diced tomatoes instead of the second can of whole tomatoes. I also used 2 peppers instead of one and made it with chicken and sausage only, no ham or shrimps. I used about 4 chicken breast and 1 1/2 rings of smoked sausage It tasted wonderful and was cooked perfectly! Dicing all the veggies was really the only work about it all. I will certainly make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2009
Excellent Dish! I love the ease of one dish meals. I halved the recipe, as I was cooking for a small number of people. The changes I made was to use regular smoked sausage (andouille was not available) and I added 2 cans of cream of mushroom soup (undiluted). I think the tomato paste and one can of the tomatoes need to be eliminated. I will do this the next time I make this recipe - (too much acid for us from the the amount of tomatoes). All in all, a great recipe! Will definately make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dickinson, Texas, USA
Living In: West Point, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2009
this recipe is very forgiving. have made several times for my extended family. I cook the rice on stove,and spoon jambalaya over the rice. I add more onion and extra chicken,uncooked. add shrimp last 10 to 15 minutes. great reheated
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 276) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Cajun Jambalaya

A simple jambalaya with chicken and kielbasa and a kick that won’t overpower.

Oven Baked Chicken Teriyaki

Simple, saucy chicken teriyaki that you bake in the oven.

Jambalaya

See how to make a spicy jambalaya with chicken and andouille sausage.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States