Oven Baked Jambalaya Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2010
I've tested out a few Jambalaya recipes and this was the hands down winner in my house. I used the Creole Seasoning Blend recipe with it. The only thing I did differently was left out the shrimp and ham and doubled the chicken and sausage. The first time I made it I scaled the recipe down to four servings and it only took 30 minutes in the oven. The next time I made the full 16 servings and it took about an hour. I used parboiled long grain rice and had no problems with the rice at all. Thanks for sharing a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2010
delicious and easy throw everything in the fridge and bake, well almost. tasty and satisfying!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by amanda*~

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Saskatchewan, Alberta, Canada
Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2010
Yumm, I made this last year... had to come back and find it again because I lost the recipe that I had printed. I made this recipe as is. Yes, it serves alot of people. The recipe states 16 servings. People keep altering the recipe and complaining of a bad outcome... why is that? Some of the reviews of recipes on this site are frustrating for me due to all the changes being made. A true review should be when the recipe is made as is. OK, off my soap box, This recipe is easy and very very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bren0825

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2010
husband loved, it i thought it was okay. i didnt use shrimp. i cut down the recipe by half, so i cooked it for a little over an hour. i mixed all the ingredients in a casserole dish, had no problems at all with the rice, it was all cooked through. will make again, for my husband!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by strawberishimmer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Baton Rouge, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Shreveport, Louisiana, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2010
this is great!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2010
This is probably the best jambalaya my husband or I have ever tasted, homemade or at a restaurant. What's baffling is how simple the ingredients are! It was also the perfect prep ahead dish. I sauteed everything, added the whole tomatoes with juice and the meat and let everything blend overnight. Next day, simply added the broth & rice and popped it in the oven. I made a half recipe but kept roughly the same amount of meat/shrimp (as my husband is on a low carb diet) and everything still turned out nicely. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Taiping, Perak, Malaysia
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2010
Excellent recipe! My suggestions: 1. check at one hour, then every ten minutes until done. I checked at an hour and it was undercooked, but at 1.5 hrs it was overcooked! My fault, not the recipes, so I still give it 5 stars. 2. Add the frozen cooked shrimp AFTER you take it out of the oven. They just need to warm through, not cook any further. I will definately make this again. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AnnC123

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2010
I have made this recipe twice now and it has turned out great both times. I have yet to make it in the oven. The first time my 13 year old son made it in the crockpot, just dumped everything in and let it cook, (it is just that easy!) Last night I made it on the stove top in a dutch oven. I also didn't follow the measurements exactly - each time I had a chicken breast, 2 sausage links, etc. leftover from cooking other meals and I had stuck all that in the freezer. I just pulled them out, adjusted the amounts and make a smaller batch for just the 3 of us. I also used brown rice instead of white. Good flavor and I really like being able to adjust the intensity of the cajun seasoning. This is a good recipe and I will certainly be making it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2010
Perfect as is! The proportions are 100% accurate. I added chopped bacon at the end. I was worried about the cooked shrimp cooking again for so long, but it worked!! I served this to company, the presentation was beautiful and everyone went back for seconds and thirds! Cook in a huge roasting pan (the one you use for a turkey)! Thank you for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Oak Hill, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2009
The cooking times on this recipe are WAY off! If this dish is going to be in the oven for 1 1/2 hours there is no reason to use pre-cooked meat, especially shrimp. When I took it out of the oven, the rice was so overcooked and mushy, the shrimp was shriveled and dry, and the chicken wasn't moist at all. Next time I will use raw chicken, and I will add the rice 20-30 minutes before the end. I will also use raw shrimp and those only need maybe 7-10 minutes to cook altogether.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 276) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Easy Cajun Jambalaya

A simple jambalaya with chicken and kielbasa and a kick that won’t overpower.

Oven Baked Chicken Teriyaki

Simple, saucy chicken teriyaki that you bake in the oven.

Jambalaya

See how to make a spicy jambalaya with chicken and andouille sausage.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States