Oven Baked Jambalaya Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2010
Every person in my family, plus guests enjoyed this meal! It is hard to please EVERY member of my family, so this recipe is a keeper. Followed the directions, didn't change a thing and it was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kelly Sanchez

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Poulsbo, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2010
This was my second recipe and attempt at Jambalaya. Great recipe but wow is this alot!!! Also after cooking in oven it still was not set up and rice was hard. I was desperate as company was arriving soon. I poured all into a stovetop kettle and cooked at a simmer and that did it. Also do not add frozen cooked shrimp until the end unless you want extra large shrimp to be babies. I actually added another bag I had in the freezer the last few minutes and they were perfect!! Also my husband perferred the tails removed prior to popping in the pot!! Great flavor, family loved it for days.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2010
This is so easy and so perfect! It has turned out perfectly every time I make. I pretty much follow the recipe exactly including making the Creole Seasoning Blend. I use a rotisserie chicken for the chicken to save time. I have made this for the last 5 dinner parties I have hosted and everyone RAVES!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2010
Quite good - Keep the rice separate for leftovers, it gets a bit soggy on reheats
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2010
So easy and always enjoyed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Santa Cruz, California, USA
Living In: Valley Center, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2010
This recipe has a great taste, but is incredibly hard to cook. If you make this recipe exactly as indicated, it takes at least 2 times the amount of the time indicated by the recipe. The recipe also takes at least 1.5 hours to even prepare. Don't think that I'll make this recipe again just because it's wayyyyyyyy too time consuming and its very hard to make it turn out right especially if you would be an experienced cook.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2010
This was my first attempt at Jambalaya, and it turned out great! I tossed everything but the rice in the slow cooker for a couple of hours, then cooked the rice and served the Jambalaya over it. This dish was too spicy for my kids, though, so next time will decrease the spices. I don't expect the flavor to diminish at all!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by katiemomto3

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2010
everything was great, but i think i need to figure out a way to make it so the shrimp isn't tough as a result of overcooking. it might be better to throw in the shrimp a few minutes before everything is done. don't follow the times as exactly listed or the rice will become mushed and broken. flavors were wonderful, though. my friends' favorite out of all the dishes i had for a Cajun/Creole picnic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2010
The only alterations I made to this were excluding the ham and shrimp, doubling the chicken (which I seasoned with the Creole spices). I decided to try adding the rice instead of cooking it separately and at 1.5hrs it was cooked well (my oven runs really hot), maybe could use more sauce next time even though I halved the recipe. Overall great dish, easy and spicy but not too much! Will be making often!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kreativess

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Concord, California, USA
Living In: Oakland, California, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2010
When I lived on the Gulf Coast I had many a jambalaya but never learned to prepare it myself. I tried this recipe for a Saints Superbowl party this year and am convinced that this dish is what sealed the victory. Okay, maybe not, but it was great. I used Tony Chachere's instead of Creole Seasoning Blend and I am sure I put in more than 3 tablespoons. I also threw in quite a bit of Louisiana Hot Sauce. And I omitted the ham. I don't feel like the ham adds anything to the dish. It was amazing!!! Everyone at the party loved it. Very authentic for an oven baked recipe, which I think is easier to prepare than the stove-top version. Thank you for this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 281) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Allrecipes Magazine
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Cajun Jambalaya

A simple jambalaya with chicken and kielbasa and a kick that won’t overpower.

Oven Baked Chicken Teriyaki

Simple, saucy chicken teriyaki that you bake in the oven.

Jambalaya

See how to make a spicy jambalaya with chicken and andouille sausage.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States