Oven Baked Jambalaya Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2012
I cooked the rice separately which worked really well since I had leftovers, but forgot to leave out the chicken broth from the main mix so my dish was a little soupier than expected. It was still delicious, easy to make and got good reviews from my friends!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2012
Absolutely phenomenal. I wasn't happy with all my meat choices at my grocer so I just used shrimp and Italian sausage that I cooked separately prior to adding them to the sauteed veggies, garlic and tomato paste. Since I had less meat, I put in less seasonings, tomatoes, rice and broth (about half). I kept it all on the stovetop so I could monitor the rice. Turned out exactly as I had hoped.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by L. Rakic

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rochester, Michigan, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2012
I cut the recipe in half left out the Tomato paste and used three cups of rice, two cups of broth, and only 1 TBSP of Creole seasoning. I may have been heavy on the meat portions because I love meat! I used TC's Creole Seasoning and it appeared a bit hot for my liking so I cut that back to 1TSP. I use cast iron cookware, so I used my 8" dutch oven from the stove top to the oven, it worked so well. I forgot to stir it during the cooking and thought at first it was a bit mushy but after I stirred it (I let it cook for 1-3/4 hrs at 350) I left the lid off and let it set for about ten minutes and it was perfect. I mean perfect! Very delicious. I left the tomato paste out because my wife doesn't like so much tomato. I also cut the liquid to only two cups of broth because we use Tia Jasmin rice and it must be washed so I use it wet and I find that a one to one ratio on that rice is about perfect in my rice cooker so I use that as default for that rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2012
This is a great recipe! Delicious. I didn't end up putting it in the oven though, just left it in the pot and left on low heat in the pot and it turned out perfect. For the rice, I half cooked it as the recipe on the box stated, then put the rice and water in the Jumbalaya with the tomatoes and it wasn't mushy at all. Thank you for a great meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2012
Delicious - followed recipe except - left out the ham and used raw shrimp instead of cooked, diced tomatoes instead of whole and instant rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deb

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Floral Park, New York, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2012
I prepared this in my slow cooker with the addition of 1 T each of oregano and parsley, 1 tsp of cayenne and 1/2 tsp of thyme. I loved the flavor added by these extra spices and, next time, I'll up my addition of cayenne from 1 tsp to 1 tablespoon. But, I goofed up when after I added the rice in what I'd intended as the last half-hour of cooking and then I fell asleep. So, what I ended up with was a fantastic flavored mushy rice. Totally my fault. Not only did I cook the rice (and chicken, andouille and shrimp) FAR too long, but it was even worse because I used the minute rice I'd bought when I intended to cook another recipe so there was no forgiveness in cooking time. Still giving this 5 stars because it would have been amazing if I hadn't made such a bad mistake. I'll definitely make this again with the proper type of rice and cooking it for the appropriate length of time. Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2012
This had a wonderful flavor, but Joel didn't care for it as much. (Tomatoey) Bunco people loved it. Made a LOT, and didn't bake well. I had to put in a stock pot on the stove to finish. Could've been the oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TLFAIRBANKS

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2012
4.5 Stars: I was so concerned about the reviews saying the rice does not cook that I made it early in the day. The rice cooked perfectly, so by the time I served it that night, it was a little mushy. We have a shellfish allergy, so I increased other meats and left out shrimp. She did not like it anyway, so I will use shrimp next time. We all agreed this had a good flavor and I thought it was pretty easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carol

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Madison, Mississippi, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2012
I loved this recipe - I made a few substitutions - instead of addding shrimp, I added additional sausage and chicken. I used Johnson's chicken sausage (italain/hot variety). I also made my own creole seasoning by searching for Emeril's recipe, also on the web. Made this in my dutch oven and my whole family loved it - I halved the recipe and still had tons of left overs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2012
I just got back from New Orleans and fell in love with Jambalaya. I just had to try it myself. This recipe is SPOT ON !! I tried it on my friends for Superbowl and they had second servings. I have one suggestion. Some of the writers suggested to put the shrimp in 15 minutes before completed and I strongly disagree as raw shrimp should not be added to cooked foods. Insatead, cook the shrimp separately and add to the rice 5 minutes before complete. Also, I added a little bit of broth on the half time turn to keep it moist as I noticed it was drying up and still needed more cooking time. I also used Parboiled rice. I will definately keep making this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 281) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Allrecipes Magazine
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Cajun Jambalaya

A simple jambalaya with chicken and kielbasa and a kick that won’t overpower.

Oven Baked Chicken Teriyaki

Simple, saucy chicken teriyaki that you bake in the oven.

Jambalaya

See how to make a spicy jambalaya with chicken and andouille sausage.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States