Oven Baked Jambalaya Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2013
Good recipe. It made a VERY generous 16 people serving. Four people have eaten generously for 2 meals so far, and there's barely a dent. First time I'm making it from scratch (have used mixes in the past), and it's SOooooo....much better than the mix. Used regular beef smoked sausage (the andouille was very high priced at the store) and it was fine. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2013
This dish is delicious! I was trying to recreate the jambalaya from this awesome fusion restaurant in our neighborhood, and although it's not identical, this recipe is a home run. I cut the recipe in half and it was dripping over in the oven in my 9x13 dish. I even left 1cup of the broth out! Mistake, too, because once the 90 minutes was up my rice wasn't quite done. So I added the cup of broth I had omitted and cooked another half hour. Fixed the problem! The amount of spice was right on... Definitely use andouille! I used Tony Cacheries Cajun seasoning. Next time I'll omit the shrimp as they are expensive and I could've done without them. All in all this will definitely be a repeat! Thank you for this one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MOLLE888

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bethesda, Maryland, USA
Living In: Fairfax, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2013
Very nice recipe! I didn't read all 200+ reviews, but I always read the least positive and the most helpful before starting any recipe. A common theme was mushiness, esp. w/the rice & shrimp. I scaled the recipe to 8 servings, and this made a TON!! filled up a 13X9 pan. To keep the prep work easy, I used frozen chopped onions and bell peppers (Picsweet). Used jarred minced garlic. Used pre-cubed ham also. Only had to slice/cut the sausage. Used 5 of the whole tomatoes and crushed..whole can would have been too many, and no extra juice. Proceeded with the recipe, cutting out 1/2 cup of the broth. Cooked the rice separately in chicken broth, and during the last 7-10 minutes, stirred in the rice and shrimp to heat through. This made a nice, juicy jambalaya, but not overly tasting of tomatoes, and consitency was nice throughout. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ZAMBOLIE
Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2013
I have been making this recipe for a few seasons now. We love this recipe and it freezes well. This is a great fall winter dish! I just made this over the last weekend while camping. The only modifications we have done is to use an electric roaster, add MORE broth while cooking (omitting the rice)and then when we are about 30 mins out of serving we cook the rice in some of the broth we have scooped from the dish. We keep the rice separate until we're ready to freeze what we don't eat in 2-3 days, then all of it is combined and frozen. Great stuff!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kennesaw, Georgia, USA
Living In: Grinnell, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2013
I love this recipe. I double it for my 3 college age sons. They can't get enough!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer Hanley Froomkin
Home Town: Girard, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2013
This was AMAZING!! Quick side note here, my husband is black and I am as white as a white girl can be lol. The only time I've had jambalaya was at a big family get together, using the "secret family recipe" and it was delicious. I'm not a great cook (nor do I have the family recipe), so I've been super intimidated to try to make jambalaya before...but this recipe is fantastic (possibly even better than the family secret, but shhh don't tell them that!). It was a tremendous hit, I made my own seasoning (thanks for including the link, it was a huge help)and couldn't be happier. Just enough spice to keep it authentic, but even my little ones, age 2 and 3, ate theirs...plus seconds! My older boys are already requesting I make it again next week. Safe to say, this ones a crowd pleaser and definitely a keeper! Thank you sooooo much :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2013
Made as written except for using RoTel Diced Tomatoes & Green Chiles and brown rice. The recipe was halved, and a 4 qt. baking dish worked perfectly. The bake time was 1-3/4 hrs. We mainly made this recipe to see how we liked this oven version since large gatherings sometimes creates a shortage of stovetop space. We wouldn’t hesitate to make this for a large group but prefer another stove top jambalaya when making a family sized meal. We use a slightly modified version of Creole Seasoning Blend by Joslyn in many dishes, and it is exceptional. Joslyn, thank you for two fine recipes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ConkyJoe
Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2013
This recipe is so good, and it's relatively easy to make. I made the creole seasoning linked to this recipe, but I omitted the cayenne for my spice-challenged family. I also used smoked sausage instead of andouille. This is an enormous recipe, so next time I will definitely cut in half (and still have leftovers I'm sure). Very tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by crimson buckeye

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lewis Center, Ohio, USA
Living In: Westerville, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2013
This was good and the whole family enjoyed it. I halved the recipe and thus cut out some steps, after initial saute, I just threw everything into my Rachael Ray ovenproof pan and let it rip. Also subbed large prawns for pre cooked shrimp, chicken tenderloins for store bought rotisserie and Evergood Pineapple sausage for andouille, which helped control the heat of the dish a bit as I have a 3 year old that doesn't yet appreciate very spicy food that the rest of the family does. I also used the recommended link for the creole spice mix and just eased up on the cayenne and white pepper. An overall winner that I will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Morton Grove, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2012
This was excellent and so easy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Catherine Turinsky

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fairbanks, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 277) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Easy Cajun Jambalaya

A simple jambalaya with chicken and kielbasa and a kick that won’t overpower.

Oven Baked Chicken Teriyaki

Simple, saucy chicken teriyaki that you bake in the oven.

Jambalaya

See how to make a spicy jambalaya with chicken and andouille sausage.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States