Oven Baked Chicken Teriyaki Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2014
We really enjoyed this recipe. The chicken was unbelievably moist, even for white meat. I didn't have any fresh ginger, so I substituted 1 tsp of ground ginger, and used rice wine vinegar instead of mirin. I like to follow the recipes exactly the first time I try them, but I just used what I could find in the house. I also cooked the chicken for about 40 minutes, until the rest of dinner was done - rice and roasted brussel sprouts. The sauce thickened nicely on the stove, but it made a lot of it - would even have been enough for double the amount of chicken. It was a hit with my family and I will definitely use this recipe again - very versatile!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Oakville, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2014
In my opinion it tastes like Chinese food
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2014
I just made this tonight and its a keeper!!! Everyone, including my husband who does not like boneless, skinless chicken, went for seconds. I did take the suggestion of using a bit less ginger. The recipe made enough sauce that I was able to spoon extra over the chicken. The sauce went nicely over the rice I made with it also.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2013
I've made this a number of times and I always forget how good it is. I serve it over rice with steamed broccoli because it sops up the sauce best. If there are any leftovers they're even better if that's possible. I make it exactly as the recipe calls for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2013
I LOVED THIS recipe! I used chicken thighs, because they were on sale, and used less ginger as per other reviews, but kept everything else the same. My husband said keep this recipe on hand!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2013
I made this as directed in the recipe. When I saw it called for 1/2 cup of white sugar I hesitated but went on as no other reviews had commented on a burnt sugar taste. Within 15 min in the oven the whole house smelt like burnt sugar. The amount of ginger and garlic were fine for us and in fact may have saved the dish as they could over ride the burnt sugar smell & taste. Maybe we are more sensitize than some to that taste. I will not be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2013
This was good but just a heads up, if you use regular soy sauce or tamarind sauce, as I did, 1 cup is way too much. It could probably be reduced to 1/2 cup to reduce the saltiness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2013
I love terriyaki chicken, but didnt like the taste of this one. Find it better tasting and simpler to use premade marinades & basters.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2013
We liked it. I cut up the chicken in chucks because I thought that's what the picture looked like. It cooked great this way. Very flavorful. Juicy. Tasted like a restaurant meal. Dh liked it too and he's picky about his sauces. He likes them thick and this was.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2013
Great! I think 200C is too hot for the chicken, next time I'll put it at 180 for the same amount of time. The sauce is amazing though - even though it was reduced on the stovetop, no burning in the oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 56) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Oven Baked Chicken Teriyaki

Simple, saucy chicken teriyaki that you bake in the oven.

Oven Roasted Teriyaki Chicken

Homemade teriyaki sauce adds lip-smacking flavor to roasted chicken thighs.

Baked Teriyaki Chicken

This top-rated recipe for baked chicken thighs boasts a tangy, tasty marinade.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States