Oven-Baked Caramel French Toast Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2009
Excellent dish! I have served for several brunches, and all of my guests love it! It is very sweet, but turns out great everytime!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2009
Used maple syrup instead of corn syrup. If you don't like sweet, don't make this! My husband is a sugar fanatic and LOVES this recipe. This is a nice recipe to make on the holidays, too rich for every day but just right when you are treating yourself.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Rochester, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2009
ooey gooey goodness!! I made this dish for Christmas morning and it was superb! It was great for Christmas morning because I did everything the night before and then popped it in the oven right before we started opening gifts, once we were done with the presents breakfast was ready. I did make some very minor adjustments: *I used challah bread *Because challah brean is so thick I didn't "sandwich" the pecans, only one layer *I didn't put any pecans in 1/4 of the dish because my stepdaughter can't eat nuts due to her braces, even the parts w/o pecans were yummy! I definitely recommend this recipe :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Queens, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2009
killer delicious - great breakfast dish to make for overnight company ~ they will be impressed. Pretty sweet, make some bacon to serve with it :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lisa-lu

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2009
Followed the recipe exactly and it turned out perfect! It really does taste a lot like a caramel roll! Can't wait to make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Highlands Ranch, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2008
OMG!!!! This is simply the BEST! And the easiest! I made this for Christmas brunch and the only problem I had was that I did not make double! The changes that I made were 1 cup milk, 5 eggs, no nuts. After i poured the egg mixture onto the bread, I thought that it looked a little too much, so I then poured about 1/3rd back out. I was afreaid of mushy results. It was in the oven for about 50 minutes and it was perfect!!!!!! After it came from the oven I turned the pan upside down onto a serving platter. I did serve the extra sauce on the side. YUMMY! MUST TRY !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2008
This was a great recipe! I took other's suggestions and cut the milk in 1/2. I kept the same number of eggs. It was sweet, but was approved by all at the housewarming party I went to. I will definitely make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Honduras Missionary Mom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bedford Park, Illinois, USA
Living In: Tegucigalpa, Francisco Morazán, Honduras

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2008
This will definitely become a staple breakfast item at our house. I took another reviewer's advice and used one less egg and 1/2 cup less milk and it wasn't soggy. I didn't add nutmeg either. Also, took make it "a little" more healthy I used butter spread instead of real butter in the caramel mixtures and it still turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2008
this recipe was awesome. Easy to make and tasted delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer Putzier

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cherokee, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2008
This was really sweet and really good!! Served it with sliced bananas. The changes that I made were: 5 eggs, 3/4 c. skim milk and 14 slices cinnamon bread cut into bite sized pieces. I baked it in a glass pyrex dish and did not have a problem with it burning as some other reviewers did.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Hutchinson, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 146) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Chef John's French Toast

Chef John reveals the three tricks to making perfect French toast.

Caramelized French Toast

See how to make crave-worthy French toast with a sweet caramel sauce.

Stuffed French Toast II

See how to make easy but elegant stuffed French toast.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States