Oven-Baked Caramel French Toast Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2009
Very sweet but good with eggs and sausage to calm down all the sweet. I think next time I'll use 6 slices of thicker bread instead of 12 slices of thin bread. It was a little bit soggy, but not bad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2009
Great recipe. I can see why people think it's sweet, but if you like cinnamon rolls or the like, these should taste fine. The recipe at the beginning said to cook brown sugar/butter mix until thick and it kinda starts pretty thick so I didn't cook long. Mine ended up soaking in a lot to the bread instead of becoming caramelly like the pictures seem. Next time I'll cook mine for a few minutes to thicken it more. Didn't change the fact that it was still very good. I did tear my bread into chunks too just b/c I thought it would work better and it came out fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2009
This was great! I found the carmel too sweet though so i added more of a streusel topping to it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2009
I had a brunch party with abt 20 ppl and this was a great dish to make! The only thing I changed was the amt of egg/milk mixture I poured in the pan. I individually poured the mixture over each toast just enough to get the top layers saturated and some around the bottom. In other words I did not use the whole entire mixture because I was afraid of the toast being mushi(I've read in other reviews online). So other than that it was great! I didn’t even need to add syrup to the finish product because the caramel mixture is sweet! Thnxs for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2009
This was a great recipe. This is the first recipe I have every rated after making many, many recipes from this website. I made this for my mother for a Mother's Day Brunch. I did have to make a few changes because I was only making this for myself, my mother and my daughter. I decreased the serving size and I didn't have to layer it because the pan I used was not deep enough. I used 4 eggs and 3/4 cup of milk. I also didn't make extra caramel sauce at the end. I followed another reviewer that said it wasn't needed. Overall the recipe was a hit. It's more like a sticky bun from the gooey caramel on the bottom with a breading pudding texture. None the less it was great. Will definitely make again. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ANGELFROMHEAVEN
Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2009
Heavenly! Just like caramel pecan rolls! Used 4"x4" buttered casserole dishes for individual servings. Turn upside down into second pan or on plate so that caramels and pecans are on top rather then the bottom, this also avoids the need for the extra caramel sauce. Used cubed sandwich bread (you don't want it to be too fresh), rather then sliced french bread. Wonderful brunch recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ANGELFROMHEAVEN

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Saint Paul, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Maplewood, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2009
LOVED it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2009
Strange with french bread. Not a fan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rosesgrenadine
Home Town: New Albany, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2009
The first time I made this was in school. I did not care for this recipe. It is soggy, the fake caramel sauce is too sweet and it sticks to the bottom of the pan. I will never ever be making this recipie again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2009
Came out great! I made half the amount for me and my boyfriend. It made four nice size portions. I used Challah bread and it came out great. I split all the ingredient measurements in half and refrigerated overnight. When I make it again I will use the FULL egg mixture (step 3 of the directions). The Challah was a little dry on the top layer. Caramel Sauce was great and so easy! Thank you for submitting this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bronxville, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 147) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Versatile Chicken Salad
Versatile Chicken Salad

Pile it into a tomato half, load it into a wrap, or spread it on bread. Chicken salad does it all.

Beautiful Broccoli Salad
Beautiful Broccoli Salad

Broccoli salad makes a great side dish or a light main dish on a warm night.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's French Toast

Chef John reveals the three tricks to making perfect French toast.

Caramelized French Toast

See how to make crave-worthy French toast with a sweet caramel sauce.

Stuffed French Toast II

See how to make easy but elegant stuffed French toast.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States