Oven-Baked Caramel French Toast Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2010
We made this for Thanksgiving brunch last year. Everyone loved it so we will be making it for Thanksgiving again this year!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mommaash122

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Lansing, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2010
With the reviews I thought this would have been better. I followed the directions except omitted the pecans b/c my daughter is allergic to them. The bottom was a soggy mess so I flipped it and baked it some more which did seem to help. I tried a bite and it was like eating soggy scrambled eggs with carmel sauce. The most positive part was my kitchen smelling fabulous. I will keep looking. Thanks for sharing anyway.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2010
this was so easy to make, I adjusted for 12 people and it was super and everyone was saying OMG this is soooo good.....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Paula Dymond

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cambridge, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: May 16, 2010
My family really liked this. We use french bread from the bakery and sliced in 1in thick. We also served the caramel sauce on the side because my husband doesn't like super sweet breakfasts. I will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2010
I think I overcooked it, it was sticky and difficult to cut.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sue

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2010
this was so good . I did only one layer as someone else did and wow so good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dee Dee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Venice, Florida, USA
Reviewed: May 5, 2010
Definitely forget about the extra sauce. We've made a recipe like this many times, but the pecans were a great addition. I cut my french bread one inch thick and filled in any gaps. Texture was perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2010
I made this without the extra caramel sauce. It was delicious. It would have been extra yummy with more sauce, but probably not needed. My husband would have preferred only one layer of bread but I liked it fine with two.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2010
Perfect! I made it for my picky husband and he loved it, thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by t_jones

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Del Mar, California, USA
Living In: Lincoln, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2010
Wonderful! Was a hit at a Valentine's Brunch. I cut the bread up in cubes instead to make it easy to serve and just mixed the pecans in with cubes. And based on others' suggestions, after baking I turned it upside down on a platter. Gorgeous and no need to make additional Caramel Sauce. Everyone raved about it. I said it was like a combination of bread pudding and cinnamon rolls (only easier to make!) I loved that I could make it the night before and just cook it in the morning. This will replace my caramel cinnamon roll recipe and I'll make it for every brunch!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 146) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's French Toast

Chef John reveals the three tricks to making perfect French toast.

Caramelized French Toast

See how to make crave-worthy French toast with a sweet caramel sauce.

Stuffed French Toast II

See how to make easy but elegant stuffed French toast.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States