Oven-Baked Caramel French Toast Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2010
This recipe was excellent!! Some say it is too sweet, but with a good cup of coffee or glass of milk it is perfect. It is not soggy at all. I don't think you need to serve it with anything as heavy as quiche and home fries though. Maybe some simple scrambled eggs or however you like them, and maybe a slice or two of bacon. Will definitely make this again!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SOPHBARK

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2010
It didn't taste bad but the caramel souce was as hard as a rock...maybe I made it wrong....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Professional MOM

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2010
dont cook initial sauce so long-it will harden. Cook only 3 min on medium
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2010
This was very very good. I read through many reviews and made the following changes which worked well. I did not make the additional caramel sauce and we had plenty. I only used the bottom layer of caramel and one layer of bread. I thick cut a loaf of french bread - my 9 x 13 pan used 6 slices. I only used 5 eggs, 1 cup of 1/2 and 1/2 instead of milk, 1/2 tsp nutmeg, and 1/2 tsp cinnamon and it was plenty. I only used 1/2 cup (1 small baking package) of pecans and put them on the bottom layer of caramel sauce prior to covering with bread. After the dish baked I flipped it out on a serving platter and it was beautiful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: North Ridgeville, Ohio, USA
Living In: Macungie, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2010
Was good, but I may have baked it a bit too long. My oven is kinda mean and the caramel got a bit too sticky. My boy's didn't care for it, my husband did. So mixed reviews here. I will try 1 more time for good measure. I used the Texas toast and it was almost dry. I will leave the milk ratio the same next time instead of cutting it back to avoid sogginess.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tink

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2010
Made this for yesterday's dinner party, made no changes, it was the first dish gone! Definitely would make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RoxanneG

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2010
We made this for Thanksgiving brunch last year. Everyone loved it so we will be making it for Thanksgiving again this year!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mommaash122

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Lansing, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2010
With the reviews I thought this would have been better. I followed the directions except omitted the pecans b/c my daughter is allergic to them. The bottom was a soggy mess so I flipped it and baked it some more which did seem to help. I tried a bite and it was like eating soggy scrambled eggs with carmel sauce. The most positive part was my kitchen smelling fabulous. I will keep looking. Thanks for sharing anyway.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2010
this was so easy to make, I adjusted for 12 people and it was super and everyone was saying OMG this is soooo good.....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Paula Dymond

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cambridge, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: May 16, 2010
My family really liked this. We use french bread from the bakery and sliced in 1in thick. We also served the caramel sauce on the side because my husband doesn't like super sweet breakfasts. I will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 142) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's French Toast

Chef John reveals the three tricks to making perfect French toast.

Caramelized French Toast

See how to make crave-worthy French toast with a sweet caramel sauce.

Stuffed French Toast II

See how to make easy but elegant stuffed French toast.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States