Oven-Baked Caramel French Toast Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2010
This is the best of these recipes that I have tried! I left off the caramel topping though, since my family likes maple syrup on their french toast. (I also left out the pecans because of an allergy issue.) We loved it so much, I made it again a few days later!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2010
I know better than to try out a new recipe on Christmas day. :( I have yet to try a soak overnight french toast recipe that isnt soggy. I did reduce the milk to 1 cup and used Texas Toast. It was still soggy in parts and dry in others. ? Its too sweet too, and I LOVE sweets. Maybe all the other sweets that come with Christmas is too much and I should make a savory Breakfast recipe for us. Who knows. I didnt enjoy this at all and made it exactly as stated just reducing the milk by half a cup in hopes to reduce soggi-ness. No luck. I gave it 3 stars because it did have a good taste. i could probably tweak it and come up with something yummy. But regular french toast is actually better than this. Good luck.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SARAHFLOWERS

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2010
THe best! I bring this to all my brunches and its always a hit
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Renee

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bath, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Catasauqua, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2010
This recipe was excellent!! Some say it is too sweet, but with a good cup of coffee or glass of milk it is perfect. It is not soggy at all. I don't think you need to serve it with anything as heavy as quiche and home fries though. Maybe some simple scrambled eggs or however you like them, and maybe a slice or two of bacon. Will definitely make this again!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SOPHBARK

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2010
It didn't taste bad but the caramel souce was as hard as a rock...maybe I made it wrong....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Professional MOM

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2010
dont cook initial sauce so long-it will harden. Cook only 3 min on medium
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2010
This was very very good. I read through many reviews and made the following changes which worked well. I did not make the additional caramel sauce and we had plenty. I only used the bottom layer of caramel and one layer of bread. I thick cut a loaf of french bread - my 9 x 13 pan used 6 slices. I only used 5 eggs, 1 cup of 1/2 and 1/2 instead of milk, 1/2 tsp nutmeg, and 1/2 tsp cinnamon and it was plenty. I only used 1/2 cup (1 small baking package) of pecans and put them on the bottom layer of caramel sauce prior to covering with bread. After the dish baked I flipped it out on a serving platter and it was beautiful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: North Ridgeville, Ohio, USA
Living In: Macungie, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2010
Was good, but I may have baked it a bit too long. My oven is kinda mean and the caramel got a bit too sticky. My boy's didn't care for it, my husband did. So mixed reviews here. I will try 1 more time for good measure. I used the Texas toast and it was almost dry. I will leave the milk ratio the same next time instead of cutting it back to avoid sogginess.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tink

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2010
Made this for yesterday's dinner party, made no changes, it was the first dish gone! Definitely would make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RoxanneG

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2010
We made this for Thanksgiving brunch last year. Everyone loved it so we will be making it for Thanksgiving again this year!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mommaash122

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Lansing, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 145) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chef John's French Toast

Chef John reveals the three tricks to making perfect French toast.

Caramelized French Toast

See how to make crave-worthy French toast with a sweet caramel sauce.

Stuffed French Toast II

See how to make easy but elegant stuffed French toast.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States