Oven-Baked Caramel French Toast Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2011
My husband loved this!! Since there are just two of us, I made it in one layer. I used 5 pieces of bread and 4 eggs and adjusted the ingredients that go with the egg mixture. I will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2011
I used this recipe's brown sugar icing to serve with traditional french toast. I made my french toast with peanut butter sandwiched inside. With the brown sugar topping it was to die for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2011
YUM - I did add dates to the mix. The topping of caramel sauce was "Mexican goat milk caramel. " I heated it in the micro and poured some of it over the baked dish. We all enjoyed it - however seemed when it cooled off it was a bit "Mushy". Made it for a Christian brunch - and it was well liked. My hubby does not like bread pudding - and he thought it too much like bread pudding. He is the only one who did not like it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2011
This was fantastic! Made it as directed--if you don't like too sweet of a breakfast, you can avoid making the additional sauce, but we all enjoyed the added caramel flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Louisville, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Brunswick, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2011
DELICIOUS and SOOOO EASY. I baked up 2 loaves of pillsbury french bread the day before to use, worked great. One of my faves.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2010
Fantastic! The texture you get is not crispy-toast-like, it's more like bread pudding - but definitely not soggy. Just be careful with the amount you put in, depending on bread type, and how dry your bread is in the first place. It's a great recipe to use if you have leftover baguette or pumpernickel. Use less liquid if using fresh, moist bread. I didn't have pecans (so no layers), didn't use extra spices, and didn't make the syrup for the next morning. I cubed leftover pumpernickel bread that had dried out, placed it evenly over the caramel sauce, then poured the milk/egg/vanilla mix on top until just damp (almost all of it). It turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2010
This is the best of these recipes that I have tried! I left off the caramel topping though, since my family likes maple syrup on their french toast. (I also left out the pecans because of an allergy issue.) We loved it so much, I made it again a few days later!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2010
I know better than to try out a new recipe on Christmas day. :( I have yet to try a soak overnight french toast recipe that isnt soggy. I did reduce the milk to 1 cup and used Texas Toast. It was still soggy in parts and dry in others. ? Its too sweet too, and I LOVE sweets. Maybe all the other sweets that come with Christmas is too much and I should make a savory Breakfast recipe for us. Who knows. I didnt enjoy this at all and made it exactly as stated just reducing the milk by half a cup in hopes to reduce soggi-ness. No luck. I gave it 3 stars because it did have a good taste. i could probably tweak it and come up with something yummy. But regular french toast is actually better than this. Good luck.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SARAHFLOWERS

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2010
THe best! I bring this to all my brunches and its always a hit
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Renee

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bath, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Catasauqua, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2010
This recipe was excellent!! Some say it is too sweet, but with a good cup of coffee or glass of milk it is perfect. It is not soggy at all. I don't think you need to serve it with anything as heavy as quiche and home fries though. Maybe some simple scrambled eggs or however you like them, and maybe a slice or two of bacon. Will definitely make this again!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SOPHBARK

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 141) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's French Toast

Chef John reveals the three tricks to making perfect French toast.

Caramelized French Toast

See how to make crave-worthy French toast with a sweet caramel sauce.

Stuffed French Toast II

See how to make easy but elegant stuffed French toast.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States