Oven-Baked Caramel French Toast Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2011
I really wasn't a fan of this..but my kids liked it. It was very easy to prepare and I liked that in the morning all I had to do was pop it in the oven. However, the bread came out very soggy and you could really taste the nutmeg. I probably wont follow this exact recipe again..I'll need to do some tweaking of my own.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by stephanie

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2011
This is one of the most sinfully good recipies I have ever made. It is very sweet so next time I make it I will leave off the Carmal Sauce. It will be better with out it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2011
Excellent recipe!! Very delish! I used a thick cut country style bread that I bought at Panera. Also, I didn't make the extra caramel sauce and I didn't think I needed it at all. Other posters were correct in that if you served it "upside down" it looked perfect. Next time I will try to make a filling for it using cream cheese and cherry jam.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sara Ball

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Saint Paul, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2011
My husband loved this!! Since there are just two of us, I made it in one layer. I used 5 pieces of bread and 4 eggs and adjusted the ingredients that go with the egg mixture. I will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2011
I used this recipe's brown sugar icing to serve with traditional french toast. I made my french toast with peanut butter sandwiched inside. With the brown sugar topping it was to die for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2011
YUM - I did add dates to the mix. The topping of caramel sauce was "Mexican goat milk caramel. " I heated it in the micro and poured some of it over the baked dish. We all enjoyed it - however seemed when it cooled off it was a bit "Mushy". Made it for a Christian brunch - and it was well liked. My hubby does not like bread pudding - and he thought it too much like bread pudding. He is the only one who did not like it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2011
This was fantastic! Made it as directed--if you don't like too sweet of a breakfast, you can avoid making the additional sauce, but we all enjoyed the added caramel flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Louisville, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Brunswick, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2011
DELICIOUS and SOOOO EASY. I baked up 2 loaves of pillsbury french bread the day before to use, worked great. One of my faves.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2010
Fantastic! The texture you get is not crispy-toast-like, it's more like bread pudding - but definitely not soggy. Just be careful with the amount you put in, depending on bread type, and how dry your bread is in the first place. It's a great recipe to use if you have leftover baguette or pumpernickel. Use less liquid if using fresh, moist bread. I didn't have pecans (so no layers), didn't use extra spices, and didn't make the syrup for the next morning. I cubed leftover pumpernickel bread that had dried out, placed it evenly over the caramel sauce, then poured the milk/egg/vanilla mix on top until just damp (almost all of it). It turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2010
This is the best of these recipes that I have tried! I left off the caramel topping though, since my family likes maple syrup on their french toast. (I also left out the pecans because of an allergy issue.) We loved it so much, I made it again a few days later!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 144) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chef John's French Toast

Chef John reveals the three tricks to making perfect French toast.

Caramelized French Toast

See how to make crave-worthy French toast with a sweet caramel sauce.

Stuffed French Toast II

See how to make easy but elegant stuffed French toast.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States