Oven-Baked Caramel French Toast Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2013
This was good, but seemed a little dry after baking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cedar Rapids, Iowa, USA
Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2013
Even if you don't refrigerate this for 8 hours, it is still delicious! We all ate till we were about to burst!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SarahStumphf

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Middletown, New York, USA
Living In: Clarksville, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: May 23, 2012
We used this because I had my recipe packed away lol. It was tasteful but very soggy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2012
OMG good...but I made this every Sunday for a month since the family loved it so much & i think I gained 5 pounds! (worth it!) Anyhow, I prefer French bread & soak over night in egg/milk mix with cinnamon, nutmeg, and vanilla, I save the salt for adding to the caramel sauce to make it more of a sea salt caramel. (or toast your nuts with butter & salt to get that extra flavor) mmm...I add a touch of half & half to my caramel to keep it creamy and make sure I have enough for drizzling over at the finish. Putting the nuts on the pan with the caramel before baking is good & it is also great to just toss into the caramel & drizzle on after baking bread. THANK you for sharing, this will be a family favorite forever!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mia

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Spokane, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2012
YUM! I have a 4 year old and a 4 month old so, the night before prep was key. My kitchen smells fantastic. I used a non fat milk and a honey oat (whole grain) bread. (I used a homemade butter butter to even the playing field) Next time I will add more pecans and possibly garnish with banana slices (only for personal preference) Great, simple;delicious recipe. Loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2012
Not impressed. Kids wouldn't eat it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Worland, Wyoming, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2012
I made a few modifications I was happy with. First of all, I couldn't wait 8 hrs to prepare the meal, so I dipped the bread in the egg mixture and heated it on the skillet. The caramel sauce: I added some water to dissolve the sugar first. Then I added the corn syrup and the butter. I was much happier with the texture of the caramel. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2012
Very Good but very rich. I will use less than half of the sauce this calls for next time. If you like it rich then leave it as it is.. very similar to sticky buns.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dvcurtis

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bartonville, Illinois, USA
Living In: Gunnison, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2012
Since this sounded good but we don't like overly-sweet foods, we cut the caramel bottom by half. Also used cut up cubes from a 16oz French bread loaf. Added a couple more eggs and extra milk since the bread was quite dry and really soaked up the liquid (soaked for about an hour, not overnight). Sprinkled the top with cinnamon since we forgot the vanilla and seasonings when mixing the eggs and didn't make the additional caramel sauce topping. As we made it, the texture was good, it tasted like french toast (though not as browned as what you'd make on the stove top, and the caramel bottom (top if you flip it) took care of the need for any syrup. Tasty, and points for the ease and speed of making.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2012
Very Good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Claxton, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 147) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Sweet Summer Desserts
Sweet Summer Desserts

Summertime is all the sweeter with light desserts that satisfy without weighing you down.

Let's Make Zucchini Bread
Let's Make Zucchini Bread

Buried in zucchini? It's time to make zucchini bread! Choose from over 100 recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's French Toast

Chef John reveals the three tricks to making perfect French toast.

Caramelized French Toast

See how to make crave-worthy French toast with a sweet caramel sauce.

Stuffed French Toast II

See how to make easy but elegant stuffed French toast.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States