Oven-Baked Caramel French Toast Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2006
Very easy and great for Sunday brunch! I used leftover hamburger buns and broke them into pieces. It turned out great. I even left out the extra caramel sauce, and it was plenty sweet. Would definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2006
I made this recipe for the office. It was a big hit! A must have recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2006
This is great!A breakfast that the whole family can enjoy!Add milk to the frenchtoast when you serve it or just serve it plain.Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2006
After reading the reviews I had really high expectations for this recipe and I was very disappointed. It came out soggy with a taste that I can say was very unpleasant. The only way I was able to finish the meal was because the Carmel sauce covered up the real flavor of the food. My stomach became very upset after making this one; needless to say we will never make this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mike&Leah

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2006
After reading all the reviews I went ahead and tried this pretty much as it was. I did use a larger pan (10X13in) and my husband wondered if it couldn't be single layered.If we do single layer it, I will have to make more egg mixture to go over it because it was just the right amount in the bigger pan. Baking it for the full 40-45 minutes and using large day old french bread was just the tips I needed. Also we never ever used the sauce,(but I loved it like candy and my grandchildren loved it too) Also added extra pecans because my husband always say "you can never have to many nuts". Great for company, and easy to have done the night before!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Boston, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by What a Dish!
Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2005
Mmmm! This was full of caramely goodness! I used a loaf of fresh sourdough and skim milk. I put in a little less butter than it called for. I used walnuts instead of pecans. I didn't use the blender for the eggs, just a whisk. I almost didn't make the caramel sauce to spoon over it, but I'm glad I did. I spooned the leftover sauce onto the leftover french toast before putting it in the fridge. I love baked french toast dishes, and I will make this one again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
64 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by What a Dish!

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2004
This french toast is easy AND awesome!!! I used a bakery type cinnamon bread. Everybody loved this dish!!! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: Lafayette, Indiana, USA
Living In: Camp Zama, Kanagawa, Japan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2003
I was really scared, based on the other reviews, that this would be WAY sweet and soggy. I subtracted an egg and used one cup of milk, and it turned out great! My roommate said it was the best french toast she's had! It was sweet, but I wouldn't say overly sweet...it was overly good though, I ate a lot :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
79 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2003
My children did not like this recipe as it was too mushy, husband eats anything. This recipe takes a lot of work, not worth the effort.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2003
This recipe would have been better had I reduced the amount of cinnamon and nutmeg to 1/2 tsp each. The amts required tasted off to me, esspecially with the combination of the caramel...and cinnamon is typically a favorite spice! I took other reviewer's advice by using only 1 layer of caramel (the bottom layer)b/c when you serve, you can flip it over so that the caramel is on top. Also, I only used 1 layer of bread, which was thick-cut french bread slices. Finally, I only used 3/4 of the egg/milk/spices mixture...as I poured overall, I suddenly had an image of a previous baked french toast failure (from this site) which resulted in way too soggy bread. Glad I did (but sorry to waste the remaining 1/4-1/3 amt of mix)b/c the toast turned out very good. Only a few spots were a little mushy but overall, most had cooked to the proper texture. Served with sausage and hashbrowns...what a meal! I would make this again, reducing the egg/milk a little (so not to waste) and the spices to 1/2 tsp. Thanks Stefanie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
61 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 145) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chef John's French Toast

Chef John reveals the three tricks to making perfect French toast.

Caramelized French Toast

See how to make crave-worthy French toast with a sweet caramel sauce.

Stuffed French Toast II

See how to make easy but elegant stuffed French toast.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States