Oven-Baked Caramel French Toast Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2007
OMG!! I can't even explain how delicious this is!! I had it at Easter Brunch, and the lady who made it, used a French Baguette instead, which made it convenient to just have single servings that you could seperate easily instead of having to cut it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2007
Yummy recipe! I think I grated a little too much nutmeg in it though so will lessen it next time, I also used almonds instead of pecans, turned out fantastic! The sauce was just the right amount IMO. Will definitely be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Roxanne J.R.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2007
I thought this would really be good but it was very, very sweet--and I don't mind sweet! As suggested in other reviews, I would definitely not put any additional sauce over it before serving--it really doesn't need it. All in all, this would be best served in small portions along with something else, like the original poster says she does.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2007
This tastes great, though I only used one very thick layer, and the sauce on the bottom thickened up too much to be very gooey. It still tasted great. In the morning i drained the excess liquid and poured it back over the french toast. French toast texture was perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2007
Very good as is. I used King's Hawaiian sliced bread and it turned out great. Made for Christmas Brunch and everyone loved it. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by IBTOUGH

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Corona, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2006
This recipe is amazing and delicious. It has a praline-like taste with the caramel and pecans. My family and I prepare this on Christmas Eve and pop it into the oven Christmas morning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2006
This was yummy! It got rave reviews! I did not make the extra sauce based on other reviews and did not feel like it needed it. I cut the french bread into cubes and mixed it with the egg mixture before putting it in the pan. It came out so good - would definitely recommend and will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Cardiff By The Sea, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2006
This is DELICIOUS, albeit VERY sweet. The only change I make is to drain the excess liquid from the baking dish before popping it into the oven. YUM!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by POPPASQUASH

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Boston, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Tiverton, Rhode Island, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2006
Pretty good. Very sweet!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MrsKilmer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tiffin, Ohio, USA
Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2006
Delicious! and easy! I'm going to make this for company. Tastes like hot fresh gooey cinnamon buns with alot less work. Didn't have light corn syrup so I used regular Aunt Jemima pancake syrup and it works just fine. Next time I will use whole wheat bread and cube it rather than layering slices (the top slices crusts got rather crunchy and were kind of hard to slice through), and I think a layer of cream cheese in the middle would be really good too. Caution...very sweet and way too tempting if you are on a diet!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 146) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Salsa from Mild to Wild
Salsa from Mild to Wild

Salsa is the fresh condiment you can make at home and put on everything.

Healthy, Delicious Recipes
Healthy, Delicious Recipes

Whether you're going low-carb, low fat, paleo, or gluten-free, we have recipes just for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's French Toast

Chef John reveals the three tricks to making perfect French toast.

Caramelized French Toast

See how to make crave-worthy French toast with a sweet caramel sauce.

Stuffed French Toast II

See how to make easy but elegant stuffed French toast.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States