Oven-Baked Caramel French Toast Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2008
YUMMY!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Make sure you pour most of the egg mixture on the outer edges of the bread pan, the mixture will drain to the middle as it sets. I baked it for a little longer than suggested to cook all the way through. It is delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2008
This was delicious!!! Instead of making the additional caramel sauce, I just turned each piece over on serving plates so that the bread with sauce was right side up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FOODGU1

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2008
Wow! Delicious for Easter brunch. The caramel was somewhat sticky when it cooled, but isn't that what makes it soooo good? :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2008
This is a tasty brunch french toast. I used bakery swirled cinnamon bread and decreased the number of egg yolks by 2. I baked for 40 minutes but would reduce that by another 5-10 minutes next time. I also used only one layer of bread and caramel/nut mixture (I halved the recipe). The caramel sauce is very tasty (and very sweet) I added 1/4 tsp. vanilla and a pinch of kosher salt to the sauce before drizzling over the toast. Will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA
Living In: West Linn, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2008
Delicious!! I followed the recipe exactly except that I only baked for 40 minutes...next time I'll increase the time to 45 minutes. It's a keeper!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Saint Charles, Missouri, USA
Living In: Omaha, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2008
I made this recipe for Christmas brunch. It was fantastic and MUCH better than the Baked French Toast recipe from this site. I will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2008
This was a really tasty recipe. I used homemade cinnamon swirl bread and definitely recommend it. I left out the chopped pecans and the extra caramel sauce; I think rather than have two layers of bread with extra caramel, just one layer of bread with half the milk/egg mixture would be much better. That's what I'll do next time, because the caramel baked into the bottom layer of bread was absolutely delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA
Living In: Palm Desert, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2008
I tried this as the recipe is written and with some of the adjustments. It just turned out soggy. I think it could be great if it was written with all of the changes, but currently just turns out to be sweet soggy egg bread. I won't try this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LIZASAHM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Inver Grove Heights, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Shakopee, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2008
Made this when I got word that I needed to make brunch for 15 people. It was great! I cut french bread into bite size pieces and only did 1 layer. I also only used 5 eggs and 1 cup of milk (I don't like soggy french toast) It turned out great. The toast got nice and crispy, and with the carmel sauce poured over the top...YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by debi in st paul

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Austin, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2007
Definitely must have with the additional caramel sauce. I skipped it, and the top of the casserole was rather dry. Otherwise, very, very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA
Living In: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 147) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's French Toast

Chef John reveals the three tricks to making perfect French toast.

Caramelized French Toast

See how to make crave-worthy French toast with a sweet caramel sauce.

Stuffed French Toast II

See how to make easy but elegant stuffed French toast.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States