Oven-Baked Caramel French Toast Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2014
I left foil covering it for the first 20 minutes of baking. Removed from oven when top was dry yet still soft. Let sit to cool 5 minutes before serving. No caramel sauce...it was sweet as is and we didn't need sauce or syrup. Excellent! Thanks for making this for us Aunt Carol!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heidi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lebanon, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Jonestown, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2013
family loved it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2013
This is our "First Day of School" tradition! We make it in one layer in a large lazagna pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Scranton, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2013
awesome !!!!!!! loved it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2013
This was good, but seemed a little dry after baking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cedar Rapids, Iowa, USA
Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2013
Even if you don't refrigerate this for 8 hours, it is still delicious! We all ate till we were about to burst!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SarahStumphf

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Middletown, New York, USA
Living In: Clarksville, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: May 23, 2012
We used this because I had my recipe packed away lol. It was tasteful but very soggy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2012
OMG good...but I made this every Sunday for a month since the family loved it so much & i think I gained 5 pounds! (worth it!) Anyhow, I prefer French bread & soak over night in egg/milk mix with cinnamon, nutmeg, and vanilla, I save the salt for adding to the caramel sauce to make it more of a sea salt caramel. (or toast your nuts with butter & salt to get that extra flavor) mmm...I add a touch of half & half to my caramel to keep it creamy and make sure I have enough for drizzling over at the finish. Putting the nuts on the pan with the caramel before baking is good & it is also great to just toss into the caramel & drizzle on after baking bread. THANK you for sharing, this will be a family favorite forever!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mia

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Spokane, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2012
YUM! I have a 4 year old and a 4 month old so, the night before prep was key. My kitchen smells fantastic. I used a non fat milk and a honey oat (whole grain) bread. (I used a homemade butter butter to even the playing field) Next time I will add more pecans and possibly garnish with banana slices (only for personal preference) Great, simple;delicious recipe. Loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2012
Not impressed. Kids wouldn't eat it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Worland, Wyoming, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 141) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's French Toast

Chef John reveals the three tricks to making perfect French toast.

Caramelized French Toast

See how to make crave-worthy French toast with a sweet caramel sauce.

Stuffed French Toast II

See how to make easy but elegant stuffed French toast.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States