Oven-Baked Caramel French Toast Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2003
I was really scared, based on the other reviews, that this would be WAY sweet and soggy. I subtracted an egg and used one cup of milk, and it turned out great! My roommate said it was the best french toast she's had! It was sweet, but I wouldn't say overly sweet...it was overly good though, I ate a lot :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
74 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by What a Dish!
Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2005
Mmmm! This was full of caramely goodness! I used a loaf of fresh sourdough and skim milk. I put in a little less butter than it called for. I used walnuts instead of pecans. I didn't use the blender for the eggs, just a whisk. I almost didn't make the caramel sauce to spoon over it, but I'm glad I did. I spooned the leftover sauce onto the leftover french toast before putting it in the fridge. I love baked french toast dishes, and I will make this one again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
63 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by What a Dish!

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2003
This recipe would have been better had I reduced the amount of cinnamon and nutmeg to 1/2 tsp each. The amts required tasted off to me, esspecially with the combination of the caramel...and cinnamon is typically a favorite spice! I took other reviewer's advice by using only 1 layer of caramel (the bottom layer)b/c when you serve, you can flip it over so that the caramel is on top. Also, I only used 1 layer of bread, which was thick-cut french bread slices. Finally, I only used 3/4 of the egg/milk/spices mixture...as I poured overall, I suddenly had an image of a previous baked french toast failure (from this site) which resulted in way too soggy bread. Glad I did (but sorry to waste the remaining 1/4-1/3 amt of mix)b/c the toast turned out very good. Only a few spots were a little mushy but overall, most had cooked to the proper texture. Served with sausage and hashbrowns...what a meal! I would make this again, reducing the egg/milk a little (so not to waste) and the spices to 1/2 tsp. Thanks Stefanie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
60 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2007
Love it!!! I have made this recipe often. I have teenagers and when their friends sleep over they love this scumptous breakfast. It is an easy low mess way to feed a group. I will share all my modifications with you.... I have made it in the morning without the overnight sit and baked it right away both ways turned out fine. I tear the bread into bits and have used all kinds of bread, from white to wheat to cinnamon and even hamburger buns when I was low on bread. I combine the carmel sauce and pour it all on the bottom for lots of goey sauce when dishing. I also reduce the milk to 1cup and use 8 eggs to prevent it from being soggy. I don't put in the nutmeg and choose to sprinkle the cinnamon directly onto of the bread. It has been perfect every time!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2003
This was fabulous! I made it for Christmas morning and my family loved it! I made it again for a "breakfast for supper" meal on New Year's Eve with friends and the dish was emptied! Good and sweet!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2002
Way too sweet. It didn't need the top layer of bread, and just one layer of caramel sauce would have been plenty. I used French bread and didn't have a problem with the layers being moistened, but after pouring on the eggs and milk, I did have to spoon the mixture over the top layer of bread a few times to coat it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2004
This french toast is easy AND awesome!!! I used a bakery type cinnamon bread. Everybody loved this dish!!! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: Lafayette, Indiana, USA
Living In: Camp Zama, Kanagawa, Japan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2002
There is no way that I would ever pour another layer of caramel sauce over the top - it was way too sweet to begin with! Overall, though, it was a pretty tasty dish, and my boyfriend even commented that it was "better than normal french toast." Give it a try.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2002
Very sweet, but good. We didn't use the carmel sauce, but next time we make we'll use the sauce and not the 1st 3 ingredients. We'll use alot less nutmeg also. A nice change from rolls.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Watertown, South Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2002
very sweet but FANTASTIC
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 142) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's French Toast

Chef John reveals the three tricks to making perfect French toast.

Caramelized French Toast

See how to make crave-worthy French toast with a sweet caramel sauce.

Stuffed French Toast II

See how to make easy but elegant stuffed French toast.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States