Oven-Baked Caramel French Toast Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: May 11, 2008
I just made this french toast for a mother's day brunch. I would give this 500 stars if I could. I took the advice of another review and used bakery fresh cinnamon raisin bread. The caramel sauce on top of this was perfect. Some of us even put a spoonful of whipped cream on top. My young daughters LOVED this. This one is a keeper!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Moscow, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2008
I made this for mother's day brunch. Everyone loved it, but here are my suggestions for others: Grease the baking dish. The bread stuck to the sides and was very hard to get out. I followed other's recommendations (doing only 1 layer and decreasing the egg/milk mixture) and found the bread was not soggy at all and could have in fact soaked up more eggs. I made the additional sauce and it was not too much, but I cut the bread thick so there was more to cover. Next time I will cut it thinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jess

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ann Arbor, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2008
This was wonderful. My family cant get enough of it in the mornings
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pete and Lee

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Sumchelle
Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2008
Ohhhh man... Wonderfully delicious! Due to DH preference, I nixed the nuts. Used stale Vienna bread. 5 Eggs / 1 Cup Milk. Also, added my trademark splash of Almond Extract. For the "Topping" bit of caramel sauce, I also added in a splash of heavy cream and vanilla. This will be a "Packer Sunday" brunch addition for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2008
YUMMY!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Make sure you pour most of the egg mixture on the outer edges of the bread pan, the mixture will drain to the middle as it sets. I baked it for a little longer than suggested to cook all the way through. It is delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2008
This was delicious!!! Instead of making the additional caramel sauce, I just turned each piece over on serving plates so that the bread with sauce was right side up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FOODGU1

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2008
Wow! Delicious for Easter brunch. The caramel was somewhat sticky when it cooled, but isn't that what makes it soooo good? :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2008
This is a tasty brunch french toast. I used bakery swirled cinnamon bread and decreased the number of egg yolks by 2. I baked for 40 minutes but would reduce that by another 5-10 minutes next time. I also used only one layer of bread and caramel/nut mixture (I halved the recipe). The caramel sauce is very tasty (and very sweet) I added 1/4 tsp. vanilla and a pinch of kosher salt to the sauce before drizzling over the toast. Will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA
Living In: West Linn, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2008
Delicious!! I followed the recipe exactly except that I only baked for 40 minutes...next time I'll increase the time to 45 minutes. It's a keeper!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Saint Charles, Missouri, USA
Living In: Omaha, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2008
I made this recipe for Christmas brunch. It was fantastic and MUCH better than the Baked French Toast recipe from this site. I will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 141) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's French Toast

Chef John reveals the three tricks to making perfect French toast.

Caramelized French Toast

See how to make crave-worthy French toast with a sweet caramel sauce.

Stuffed French Toast II

See how to make easy but elegant stuffed French toast.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States