Oven-Baked Caramel French Toast Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2008
This was really sweet and really good!! Served it with sliced bananas. The changes that I made were: 5 eggs, 3/4 c. skim milk and 14 slices cinnamon bread cut into bite sized pieces. I baked it in a glass pyrex dish and did not have a problem with it burning as some other reviewers did.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Hutchinson, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2008
This is a great recipe! I always get rave reviews. Please use a non stick pan though. It comes right out of my non stick pans, but sticks to glass panns.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Olivia Jones

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2008
This recipe is the easiest for family gatherings. I used six eggs, but I only used 3/4 cup milk. This is important because I think it would have been soggy if I used all of the milk! Everyone in my family said it tasted just like a cinnabon. I also substituted almond extract for vanilla extract, as another reviewer had posted. I'll definitely make this a family tradition!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JEANINEGRANT

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2008
This was a great recipe - my only issue was sticking to the pan and not having enough!!! I should have doubled the recipe. Everyone really liked the carmel taste but the extra sauce makes that happen....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Chelmsford, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2008
great recipe. I use Pepperidge Farm Cinnamon Swirl bread and cut it up into small squares. Makes eating and serving much easier. I am now famous for this and requested by all my co-workers whenever we have a morning meeting (which is often!!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2008
My husband made this for Mother's Day Brunch. He left out the sauce and flipped the bake over (after cooking) so the pecans were on top. This reminded me of a sticky bun...very good. Tis was served with fresh fruit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KERIS1172

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mentor, Ohio, USA
Living In: Hambden Township, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: May 11, 2008
I just made this french toast for a mother's day brunch. I would give this 500 stars if I could. I took the advice of another review and used bakery fresh cinnamon raisin bread. The caramel sauce on top of this was perfect. Some of us even put a spoonful of whipped cream on top. My young daughters LOVED this. This one is a keeper!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Moscow, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2008
I made this for mother's day brunch. Everyone loved it, but here are my suggestions for others: Grease the baking dish. The bread stuck to the sides and was very hard to get out. I followed other's recommendations (doing only 1 layer and decreasing the egg/milk mixture) and found the bread was not soggy at all and could have in fact soaked up more eggs. I made the additional sauce and it was not too much, but I cut the bread thick so there was more to cover. Next time I will cut it thinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jess

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ann Arbor, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2008
This was wonderful. My family cant get enough of it in the mornings
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pete and Lee

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Sumchelle
Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2008
Ohhhh man... Wonderfully delicious! Due to DH preference, I nixed the nuts. Used stale Vienna bread. 5 Eggs / 1 Cup Milk. Also, added my trademark splash of Almond Extract. For the "Topping" bit of caramel sauce, I also added in a splash of heavy cream and vanilla. This will be a "Packer Sunday" brunch addition for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

Displaying results 81-90 (of 147) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Grilled Burgers For the 4th
Grilled Burgers For the 4th

Check out our collection of almost 200 grilled burger recipes.

Potato Salad On the Side
Potato Salad On the Side

A cookout isn't complete without a big bowl of potato salad. We have hundreds for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's French Toast

Chef John reveals the three tricks to making perfect French toast.

Caramelized French Toast

See how to make crave-worthy French toast with a sweet caramel sauce.

Stuffed French Toast II

See how to make easy but elegant stuffed French toast.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States