Oven-Baked Caramel French Toast Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2009
This was great! I found the carmel too sweet though so i added more of a streusel topping to it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2009
I had a brunch party with abt 20 ppl and this was a great dish to make! The only thing I changed was the amt of egg/milk mixture I poured in the pan. I individually poured the mixture over each toast just enough to get the top layers saturated and some around the bottom. In other words I did not use the whole entire mixture because I was afraid of the toast being mushi(I've read in other reviews online). So other than that it was great! I didn’t even need to add syrup to the finish product because the caramel mixture is sweet! Thnxs for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2009
This was a great recipe. This is the first recipe I have every rated after making many, many recipes from this website. I made this for my mother for a Mother's Day Brunch. I did have to make a few changes because I was only making this for myself, my mother and my daughter. I decreased the serving size and I didn't have to layer it because the pan I used was not deep enough. I used 4 eggs and 3/4 cup of milk. I also didn't make extra caramel sauce at the end. I followed another reviewer that said it wasn't needed. Overall the recipe was a hit. It's more like a sticky bun from the gooey caramel on the bottom with a breading pudding texture. None the less it was great. Will definitely make again. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ANGELFROMHEAVEN
Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2009
Heavenly! Just like caramel pecan rolls! Used 4"x4" buttered casserole dishes for individual servings. Turn upside down into second pan or on plate so that caramels and pecans are on top rather then the bottom, this also avoids the need for the extra caramel sauce. Used cubed sandwich bread (you don't want it to be too fresh), rather then sliced french bread. Wonderful brunch recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ANGELFROMHEAVEN

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Saint Paul, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Maplewood, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2009
LOVED it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2009
Strange with french bread. Not a fan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rosesgrenadine
Home Town: New Albany, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2009
The first time I made this was in school. I did not care for this recipe. It is soggy, the fake caramel sauce is too sweet and it sticks to the bottom of the pan. I will never ever be making this recipie again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2009
Came out great! I made half the amount for me and my boyfriend. It made four nice size portions. I used Challah bread and it came out great. I split all the ingredient measurements in half and refrigerated overnight. When I make it again I will use the FULL egg mixture (step 3 of the directions). The Challah was a little dry on the top layer. Caramel Sauce was great and so easy! Thank you for submitting this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bronxville, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2009
Yum! Extra sauce not needed - it is an easy make-ahead breakfast and tasted great with bacon & fruit. I cut back and used 1 1/4 cups of milk, but I found that it could have used the extra milk - so I will stick to the original recipe next time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer C.
Home Town: Plymouth, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Minnetonka, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2009
Excellent dish! I have served for several brunches, and all of my guests love it! It is very sweet, but turns out great everytime!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 145) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chef John's French Toast

Chef John reveals the three tricks to making perfect French toast.

Caramelized French Toast

See how to make crave-worthy French toast with a sweet caramel sauce.

Stuffed French Toast II

See how to make easy but elegant stuffed French toast.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States