Oven-Baked Caramel French Toast Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2009
Both my husband and I were disappointed in this recipe. The bottom layer of bread was too mushy, and the top was too hard, so much that it was inedible. I followed this recipe to a T, so I don't know what went wrong. I will not be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GoGatorWife

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Wyoming, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2009
Amazing! I made this for Christmas breakfast, and it was easy and delicious. I left out the pecans for the picky eaters. Between the three of us we ate the whole thing, so it didn't seem like a lot of food to me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Britt

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Omaha, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Tampa, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2009
Delicious! I made this for our Christmas morning breakfast and my family and I loved it! I think it will become a Christmas breakfast tradition. Per some of the reviewers, I skipped the extra carmel sauce and it definitely does not need it, it is plenty sweet by itself. I also used canadian white bread instead of the french bread just because, and it worked very well. Thank you for sharing your yummy recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Billerica, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2009
I made this for a brunch a couple of days ago. I was a little worried b/c I had never done a test run before... The only difference I made is that I bought two loaves of french bread (the long narrow kind at the grocery store) & cut both up to equal two layers of bread in the pan. Other than that, I followed the directions exactly. It was soooo good. Everyone went for seconds & said they loved it. Thanks for the recipe. I would give it ten stars if I could!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tara76

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Eldersburg, Maryland, USA
Living In: Hummelstown, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2009
Very good, but I'll use less of the egg mix next time so it won't be so soggy. I purchased a loaf of french bread, sliced it thick, and let it sit all day to get stale. I also left off the topping and flipped it on a platter before serving. PERFECT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2009
Very sweet but good with eggs and sausage to calm down all the sweet. I think next time I'll use 6 slices of thicker bread instead of 12 slices of thin bread. It was a little bit soggy, but not bad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2009
Great recipe. I can see why people think it's sweet, but if you like cinnamon rolls or the like, these should taste fine. The recipe at the beginning said to cook brown sugar/butter mix until thick and it kinda starts pretty thick so I didn't cook long. Mine ended up soaking in a lot to the bread instead of becoming caramelly like the pictures seem. Next time I'll cook mine for a few minutes to thicken it more. Didn't change the fact that it was still very good. I did tear my bread into chunks too just b/c I thought it would work better and it came out fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2009
This was great! I found the carmel too sweet though so i added more of a streusel topping to it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2009
I had a brunch party with abt 20 ppl and this was a great dish to make! The only thing I changed was the amt of egg/milk mixture I poured in the pan. I individually poured the mixture over each toast just enough to get the top layers saturated and some around the bottom. In other words I did not use the whole entire mixture because I was afraid of the toast being mushi(I've read in other reviews online). So other than that it was great! I didn’t even need to add syrup to the finish product because the caramel mixture is sweet! Thnxs for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2009
This was a great recipe. This is the first recipe I have every rated after making many, many recipes from this website. I made this for my mother for a Mother's Day Brunch. I did have to make a few changes because I was only making this for myself, my mother and my daughter. I decreased the serving size and I didn't have to layer it because the pan I used was not deep enough. I used 4 eggs and 3/4 cup of milk. I also didn't make extra caramel sauce at the end. I followed another reviewer that said it wasn't needed. Overall the recipe was a hit. It's more like a sticky bun from the gooey caramel on the bottom with a breading pudding texture. None the less it was great. Will definitely make again. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 142) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's French Toast

Chef John reveals the three tricks to making perfect French toast.

Caramelized French Toast

See how to make crave-worthy French toast with a sweet caramel sauce.

Stuffed French Toast II

See how to make easy but elegant stuffed French toast.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States