Oven-Baked Caramel French Toast Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2010
This is a keeper! I used 5 eggs and 1 cup of 1/2 & 1/2. I made only a single layer with raisen cinnamon bread. Use non-stick foil to line baking dish. Then you just need to lift it out and flip it over onto your serving dish. No messy dish to clean up. The hot carmel sauce from the bottom now becomes the wonderful sauce on the top. Really no need for the extra sauce. Everyone loved this dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2010
Let me start off by saying that I hate reading reviews because no one ever follows the actual recipe. Everyone changes it!! I want to read reviews of the actual recipe and not how people change it. On that note, I decided to make the recipe according to the actual directions. The french toast was okay. I love french toast and this did not make the grade for me. It was not as soggy as some reviewers made it sound. I did, however, broil the toast for the last 5 minutes which made it a little crunchy which was great!! I loved the caramel bottom. I actually served mine upside down so the caramel was on top. I also did not use the extra caramel sauce the recipe called for because there was enough on the bottom of the pan. Not sure that I will try this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by intelliJen1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Le Mars, Iowa, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2010
This was just so so.. the caramel part was amazing, but the texture of the french toast wasn't so great. I'll try a different recipe next time
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Newton, Iowa, USA
Living In: Spencer, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2010
Loved it! Based on other reviews I used 5 eggs and 1 cup of (skim) milk - it came out crisp on top and not soggy at all underneath. I didn't make the sauce for the top - didn't think it needed it. I'm sure it's delicious with the sauce too but it was plenty sweet without it! Will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2009
Both my husband and I were disappointed in this recipe. The bottom layer of bread was too mushy, and the top was too hard, so much that it was inedible. I followed this recipe to a T, so I don't know what went wrong. I will not be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GoGatorWife

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Wyoming, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2009
Amazing! I made this for Christmas breakfast, and it was easy and delicious. I left out the pecans for the picky eaters. Between the three of us we ate the whole thing, so it didn't seem like a lot of food to me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Britt

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Omaha, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Tampa, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2009
Delicious! I made this for our Christmas morning breakfast and my family and I loved it! I think it will become a Christmas breakfast tradition. Per some of the reviewers, I skipped the extra carmel sauce and it definitely does not need it, it is plenty sweet by itself. I also used canadian white bread instead of the french bread just because, and it worked very well. Thank you for sharing your yummy recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Billerica, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2009
I made this for a brunch a couple of days ago. I was a little worried b/c I had never done a test run before... The only difference I made is that I bought two loaves of french bread (the long narrow kind at the grocery store) & cut both up to equal two layers of bread in the pan. Other than that, I followed the directions exactly. It was soooo good. Everyone went for seconds & said they loved it. Thanks for the recipe. I would give it ten stars if I could!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tara76

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Eldersburg, Maryland, USA
Living In: Hummelstown, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2009
Very good, but I'll use less of the egg mix next time so it won't be so soggy. I purchased a loaf of french bread, sliced it thick, and let it sit all day to get stale. I also left off the topping and flipped it on a platter before serving. PERFECT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2009
Very sweet but good with eggs and sausage to calm down all the sweet. I think next time I'll use 6 slices of thicker bread instead of 12 slices of thin bread. It was a little bit soggy, but not bad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 146) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Homemade Pancakes Are So Easy
Easy Homemade Pancakes

Homemade pancakes are so easy to make, and nothing tastes better.

Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend
Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend

Try one of our dozens of ways to make delicious fresh guacamole.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's French Toast

Chef John reveals the three tricks to making perfect French toast.

Caramelized French Toast

See how to make crave-worthy French toast with a sweet caramel sauce.

Stuffed French Toast II

See how to make easy but elegant stuffed French toast.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States