Oven-Baked Caramel French Toast Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: May 16, 2010
My family really liked this. We use french bread from the bakery and sliced in 1in thick. We also served the caramel sauce on the side because my husband doesn't like super sweet breakfasts. I will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2010
I think I overcooked it, it was sticky and difficult to cut.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sue

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2010
this was so good . I did only one layer as someone else did and wow so good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dee Dee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Venice, Florida, USA
Reviewed: May 5, 2010
Definitely forget about the extra sauce. We've made a recipe like this many times, but the pecans were a great addition. I cut my french bread one inch thick and filled in any gaps. Texture was perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2010
I made this without the extra caramel sauce. It was delicious. It would have been extra yummy with more sauce, but probably not needed. My husband would have preferred only one layer of bread but I liked it fine with two.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2010
Perfect! I made it for my picky husband and he loved it, thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by t_jones

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Del Mar, California, USA
Living In: Lincoln, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2010
Wonderful! Was a hit at a Valentine's Brunch. I cut the bread up in cubes instead to make it easy to serve and just mixed the pecans in with cubes. And based on others' suggestions, after baking I turned it upside down on a platter. Gorgeous and no need to make additional Caramel Sauce. Everyone raved about it. I said it was like a combination of bread pudding and cinnamon rolls (only easier to make!) I loved that I could make it the night before and just cook it in the morning. This will replace my caramel cinnamon roll recipe and I'll make it for every brunch!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2010
This is a keeper! I used 5 eggs and 1 cup of 1/2 & 1/2. I made only a single layer with raisen cinnamon bread. Use non-stick foil to line baking dish. Then you just need to lift it out and flip it over onto your serving dish. No messy dish to clean up. The hot carmel sauce from the bottom now becomes the wonderful sauce on the top. Really no need for the extra sauce. Everyone loved this dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2010
Let me start off by saying that I hate reading reviews because no one ever follows the actual recipe. Everyone changes it!! I want to read reviews of the actual recipe and not how people change it. On that note, I decided to make the recipe according to the actual directions. The french toast was okay. I love french toast and this did not make the grade for me. It was not as soggy as some reviewers made it sound. I did, however, broil the toast for the last 5 minutes which made it a little crunchy which was great!! I loved the caramel bottom. I actually served mine upside down so the caramel was on top. I also did not use the extra caramel sauce the recipe called for because there was enough on the bottom of the pan. Not sure that I will try this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by intelliJen1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Le Mars, Iowa, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2010
This was just so so.. the caramel part was amazing, but the texture of the french toast wasn't so great. I'll try a different recipe next time
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Newton, Iowa, USA
Living In: Spencer, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 143) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's French Toast

Chef John reveals the three tricks to making perfect French toast.

Caramelized French Toast

See how to make crave-worthy French toast with a sweet caramel sauce.

Stuffed French Toast II

See how to make easy but elegant stuffed French toast.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States