Oven-Baked Caramel French Toast Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2003
This was fabulous! I made it for Christmas morning and my family loved it! I made it again for a "breakfast for supper" meal on New Year's Eve with friends and the dish was emptied! Good and sweet!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2002
very sweet but FANTASTIC
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2002
There is no way that I would ever pour another layer of caramel sauce over the top - it was way too sweet to begin with! Overall, though, it was a pretty tasty dish, and my boyfriend even commented that it was "better than normal french toast." Give it a try.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2002
Way too sweet. It didn't need the top layer of bread, and just one layer of caramel sauce would have been plenty. I used French bread and didn't have a problem with the layers being moistened, but after pouring on the eggs and milk, I did have to spoon the mixture over the top layer of bread a few times to coat it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2002
Very sweet, but good. We didn't use the carmel sauce, but next time we make we'll use the sauce and not the 1st 3 ingredients. We'll use alot less nutmeg also. A nice change from rolls.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Watertown, South Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2002
I had the opposite problem of the bread not getting soaked through. Mine was completely mushy. I used less bread, because of the other reviews I read. It tasted great, and the part of the bread not submerged in the egg mixture was delicious, but the texture otherwise was very disappointing. Love that caramel sauce, though! Quick and easy. Will probably use that on other stuff.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2002
This was way too sweet. I tasted it after it came out of the oven before I put the sauce on and it was edible then. I thought that putting caramel sauce on something could only improve it. I was wrong. It was too sweet to eat. my two year old disagrees though. She happily licked the sauce off of the top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2002
Very tasty, I used thick bread and it didn't soak through well. But very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2002
A huge hit at my Mother's Day Brunch. Though the extra layer of bread wasn't needed and didn't soak up a lot of the egg mixture. Overall, it was quite tasty!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2002
Yum! Everyone loved my Easter Brunch with this as the star recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kathleen Haas Hahn

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 131-140 (of 145) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chef John's French Toast

Chef John reveals the three tricks to making perfect French toast.

Caramelized French Toast

See how to make crave-worthy French toast with a sweet caramel sauce.

Stuffed French Toast II

See how to make easy but elegant stuffed French toast.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States