Oven-Baked Caramel French Toast Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2007
Sooooooo delicious!!! It tastes more like a sticky bun than french toast. Don't skip the caramel sauce when you serve it, it really adds the finishing touch. We went through all of the caramel sauce and only half of the pan of french toast, so I would suggest doubling the sauce if you think the entire pan of toast will be eaten. This is very sweet, so keep that in mind if you aren't a fan of sweets for breakfast. My whole family loved it when I served it for Christmas Brunch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Salem, New Hampshire, USA
Living In: Derry, New Hampshire, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2007
Great! The caramel was creamy. Some turn out so gritty it's like eating sand, but this one was extremely smooth and decadent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shannon Scherz

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ramsey, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Hastings, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2007
This is the best and easiest recipe! It has now become a family favorite. I find that you don't even need the extra sause for the top. Very yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2007
Love it!!! I have made this recipe often. I have teenagers and when their friends sleep over they love this scumptous breakfast. It is an easy low mess way to feed a group. I will share all my modifications with you.... I have made it in the morning without the overnight sit and baked it right away both ways turned out fine. I tear the bread into bits and have used all kinds of bread, from white to wheat to cinnamon and even hamburger buns when I was low on bread. I combine the carmel sauce and pour it all on the bottom for lots of goey sauce when dishing. I also reduce the milk to 1cup and use 8 eggs to prevent it from being soggy. I don't put in the nutmeg and choose to sprinkle the cinnamon directly onto of the bread. It has been perfect every time!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2007
I thought it turned out ok. Bread a little mushy. Will probably not make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2007
I crunched up my pecans into tiny little pieces and only put one thin layer over the caramel. I also sprinkled extra cinnamon over the bread mixture. I tore the bread into bite sized pieces and it turned out beautifully. I think it is sweet, but not too sweet. The extra caramel sauce is a must!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KaylaMayaCamrynMOM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Washington, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2007
YUMMY! My family won't eat nuts, so I left the pecans out and added thin apple slices instead. It tasted like carmel apples! Great to get new breakfast ideas... Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2007
I made this with some homemade bread I had in the freezer. It was like eating a pecan roll. GREAT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2007
It was very good, but the top was very dry and crusty while the bottom was moist and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SMILIE7

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rosemont, Illinois, USA
Living In: Elk Grove Village, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2007
OMG!! I can't even explain how delicious this is!! I had it at Easter Brunch, and the lady who made it, used a French Baguette instead, which made it convenient to just have single servings that you could seperate easily instead of having to cut it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 145) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's French Toast

Chef John reveals the three tricks to making perfect French toast.

Caramelized French Toast

See how to make crave-worthy French toast with a sweet caramel sauce.

Stuffed French Toast II

See how to make easy but elegant stuffed French toast.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States