Oven-Baked Caramel French Toast Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Jennifer Toone
Reviewed: May 14, 2015
I looooved this. The only thing I changed was I used French bread sliced a little over an inch thick to avoid the sogginess/over sweetness others reported having. I also served it with a cream cheese/powder sugar/raspberry filling for somewhat of a stuffed French toast thing. It was like heaven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer Toone
Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2015
This has been a family favorite for years! Christmas, birthdays, first day of school... This is what my family requests. Excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2014
I think the nutmeg flavor was overpowering. And I only used 1/2 tsp. I overcooked the caramel sauce for the bottom layer and it wasn't a gooey sauce in the bottom, it got a bit hard after baking and then cooling on your plate. So just heat it until the sugar is dissolved. (I am not rating the recipe down because of that-it was my error.) If I were to make it again, I would probably use 1/4 to 1/2 cup less milk. It was just a little soggy in the center when nicely browned on top. But overall, my fmaily just really did not care for the taste. This was convenient for a make ahead, but I will try something else instead. Presentation was nice, it did look visually apealing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Boonville, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2014
Turned out awesome!!! Changes I made were: 1 full loaf of french bread torn in pieces, added 2 extra eggs, used almond milk, 2 apples chopped, did not use nutmeg and did not put second layer of caramel sauce. Also I just used a whisk in a bowel instead of blender and baked it covered for 35min then uncovered for 10min. Our guests loved it. Came out perfectly cooked.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2014
I make this every year for christmas morning. For ease of serving, I cube the bread and make 1.5x the liquid. Amazing stuff! Makes great bread pudding recipe as well, if made in smaller individual portions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2014
ATTN GLUTEN FREE PEOPLE: I made it just as written, using Udi's whole grain bread from Costco (therefore the slices were larger than the standard Udi's loaves). It turned out perfectly. The amount of liquid was just right, and the extra caramel sauce was also good to have a drizzle or two of, though we didn't use nearly all of it. It got rave reviews from everyone- my gluten-eating husband and brother-in-law, my gluten free kids, and my gluten-free sister.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2014
I left foil covering it for the first 20 minutes of baking. Removed from oven when top was dry yet still soft. Let sit to cool 5 minutes before serving. No caramel sauce...it was sweet as is and we didn't need sauce or syrup. Excellent! Thanks for making this for us Aunt Carol!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heidi Shirk

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lebanon, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Jonestown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2013
family loved it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2013
This is our "First Day of School" tradition! We make it in one layer in a large lazagna pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Scranton, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2013
awesome !!!!!!! loved it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 147) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's French Toast

Chef John reveals the three tricks to making perfect French toast.

Caramelized French Toast

See how to make crave-worthy French toast with a sweet caramel sauce.

Stuffed French Toast II

See how to make easy but elegant stuffed French toast.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States