Oven BBQ Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2013
I followed the recipe --the sauce was way too thin, but simmered it for several hours and then it was great. My chicken wasn't smoky at all, despite following the directions exactly as written. Would definitely make the sauce again, but would probably either grill the chicken or bake it in the oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2013
Sauce never thickened, so I added a thickening agent (pre-blended cornstarch and some of the broth) and it worked like a charm. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by comicfairy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hollister, California, USA
Living In: Rohnert Park, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2012
Liked the flavor of the hickory wood chips but sauce never thickened and guest commented on strong vinegar flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by AcaCandy
Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2011
This BBQ sauce is AWESOME! I cut back a little on the brown sugar as I was afraid it would be too sweet. It was just perfect with half.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AcaCandy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2011
Love the sauce. I actually used a dark ale beer. The flavor was wonderful. Like the other cook, the first thing that came to my mind is that this sauce would be great with pork. There were no leftovers. I would definitely pass the recipe on to friends. Too simple to be so good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2010
This recipe is excellent! I made it tonight for dinner and I'm making dinner for a friend tomorrow and will use this recipe again! Great combination of sweetness with a tangy bite from the vinegar. I added a clove of chopped garlic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2010
Delicious! I added a little bit of 90 scoville cayenne to spice up the sauce. I used half the sauce for basting and saved the other for dipping. I basted every 10 minutes and it was worth the effort. The chicken was very good and moist. The sauce is a nice mix between sweet and spicey (depending on how much spice you add -- obviously, I like quite a bit).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2006
I found this very tasty, and I think the sauce would be good with pork as well. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Empire, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

BBQ Chicken Pizza

See how quick and easy it is to make a delicious BBQ chicken pizza.

Cherry Bomb BBQ Chicken

See how to make BBQ chicken with explosively good flavor.

Oven Roasted Teriyaki Chicken

Homemade teriyaki sauce adds lip-smacking flavor to roasted chicken thighs.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States