Oven BBQ Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2013
I followed the recipe --the sauce was way too thin, but simmered it for several hours and then it was great. My chicken wasn't smoky at all, despite following the directions exactly as written. Would definitely make the sauce again, but would probably either grill the chicken or bake it in the oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2013
Sauce never thickened, so I added a thickening agent (pre-blended cornstarch and some of the broth) and it worked like a charm. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by comicfairy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hollister, California, USA
Living In: Rohnert Park, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2012
Liked the flavor of the hickory wood chips but sauce never thickened and guest commented on strong vinegar flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by AcaCandy
Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2011
This BBQ sauce is AWESOME! I cut back a little on the brown sugar as I was afraid it would be too sweet. It was just perfect with half.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AcaCandy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2011
Love the sauce. I actually used a dark ale beer. The flavor was wonderful. Like the other cook, the first thing that came to my mind is that this sauce would be great with pork. There were no leftovers. I would definitely pass the recipe on to friends. Too simple to be so good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2010
This recipe is excellent! I made it tonight for dinner and I'm making dinner for a friend tomorrow and will use this recipe again! Great combination of sweetness with a tangy bite from the vinegar. I added a clove of chopped garlic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2010
Delicious! I added a little bit of 90 scoville cayenne to spice up the sauce. I used half the sauce for basting and saved the other for dipping. I basted every 10 minutes and it was worth the effort. The chicken was very good and moist. The sauce is a nice mix between sweet and spicey (depending on how much spice you add -- obviously, I like quite a bit).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2006
I found this very tasty, and I think the sauce would be good with pork as well. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Empire, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Not The Same Old Chicken
Not The Same Old Chicken

We have so many top-rated chicken recipes, you'll never run out of dinner ideas again.

Slow Cooker Time Savers
Slow Cooker Time Savers

Imagine dinner making itself in the slow cooker while you relax or do other things.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Oven BBQ Chicken Drumsticks

Baked chicken with homemade BBQ sauce.

Easy BBQ Bake

A perfect recipe for indoor BBQ chicken.

Cherry Bomb BBQ Chicken

See how to make BBQ chicken with explosively good flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States