Oven BBQ Chicken Drumsticks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2013
WOW! Just made this, family is raving about it with every bite! Only thing I did different --- I made a batch x 3, left the foil off, let the skin brown a bit, and then turned them and let them brown again. Fall off the bone, finger licking good amazingness!!! Thank you for sharing! Will definitely make this again, and have added to my Recipe Box!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brite Eyes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2012
Just made this for lunch and it was a big hit! I baked the chicken for 2 hours first. Then, I added the sauce and baked for an extra 30 minutes. Loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2012
I doubled the recipe except used only 1/2 the water. I cooked it an extra 15 min. The sauce was super runny. I was hoping for a nice thick bbq sauce. Also it was way too greasy. i won't make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gabe and Kari

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Catskill, New York, USA
Living In: Fargo, North Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2012
This was a hit with my family, including the three- and five-year-old. There was quite a lot of sauce, so I added two cans of white beans on a whim during the last 15 minutes, and it came out quite well! Next time I may try adding soaked dry beans at the beginning and cooking everything together, maybe with a bit more water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2012
Three quarters of the way in the cooking we poured the sauce and juices out then returned them to the top of the meat, uncovered, to brown. Didn't need the water. This is a really great recipe and the finished product has a beautiful glossy finish. (Just a note the last time we made this we were out of ketchup and substituted thick salsa, extra brown sugar, and 1/4 tsp allspice...)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2012
Really simple and delicious to make! Followed the directions exactly as above this first time, but thinking of either cutting back on the water or adding cornstarch to the sauce next time since it was a bit watery. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Glendale, Arizona, USA
Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2012
Husband and his friends said it was "delicious." Made for the first time, only thing I changed was not to add the water. Put half the sauce on for first 30 min & then turned the chicken & added the rest of the sauce. Also, I never covered it. Turned out great and ingredients are those that you would always have on hand. Very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2012
I uncovered it for the last 20 minutes of baking, hoping to thicken the sauce a little. When I noticed it was still quite runny, I removed 1/2 cup of the sauce, threw two ice cubes in to cool it quickly, stirred in 1 tablespoon of cornstarch, then added this mixture to the rest of the dish. I popped it back in the hot oven for a few minutes until it bubbled enough to cook the cornstarch. It was delicious with mashed potatoes and green beans!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2012
Just tried this tonight and it was great. I changed up the cooking process though due to time. I pan-fried the chicken drumsticks in garlic and onion for 15 minutes, then poured the sauce into the skillet, put on the lid, and cooked on high for 20 minutes. Then I lowered the heat for another 10 minutes and dinner was ready!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2012
My husband kept repeating this, like a man gone crazy.. "this is so good!" Just over and over. For the kids I left out the chili powder. I liked what another reviewer said, it's definitely restaurant quality. We will be keeping this recipe close at hand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wappingers Falls, New York, USA
Living In: Cleveland, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 68) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Exotic Pomegranate Chicken

Pomegranate juice makes a great marinade for baked chicken.

Oven Roasted Teriyaki Chicken

Homemade teriyaki sauce adds lip-smacking flavor to roasted chicken thighs.

Sweet Hot Mustard Chicken Thighs

See how to make baked chicken thighs with a sweet, hot mustard glaze.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States