Oven BBQ Chicken Drumsticks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2015
Loved it loved it loved it! Shared with a co-worker and she loved it too! Just made exactly as indicated.Delicious and so very easy! I too uncovered and let sauce thicken at the end...the extra sauce was good over rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by kimberj103
Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2015
I did not care for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2015
A very easy and tasty dish when grilling isn't an option. I used 10 chicken legs, omitted the water and used white wine vinegar. I also chose to remove the foil after 30 minutes of cooking to thicken the sauce and brown the chicken a bit more. I basted the chicken with a spoon when I removed the foil and once more during the last 30 minutes of cooking. I also let the dish sit in the oven an extra 10 minutes with the oven off. The chicken was very moist and tender. I will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2015
This has become an easy go to for dinner. I made the sauce a few times, but we like Head Country better on the legs. It also works just as well on wings and they tend to cook faster.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2015
I made these yesterday, and followed a few reviewers' suggestions. They came out great! Most importantly, I did not add the water and I did not cover the chicken with foil. I only used half of the amount of brown sugar called for (so I only used 2 Tablespoons of brown sugar) and I added 2 Tablespoons of honey. I also added a dash of tobasco sauce. The chicken came out delicious and moist - and the sauce came out super sticky and flavorful (just how we like it).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chels

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pacific Grove, California, USA
Living In: Durham, Durham, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Christine Gofron
Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2015
Having been Chicago residents for a long time (my husband is a lifer, I'm going on 25 years) we are loyal to the local sauce that first made it's debut at the Taste of Chicago about 25 years ago, Sweet Baby Ray's. So neither of us are big fans of the thinner vinegar-heavy sauces. Correction -- neither of us were big fans, until now. I had to make a few alterations based on what was in the pantry, but still an outstanding sauce! Also, since I had 12 drumsticks (lunch leftovers!) I doubled the recipe. I omitted the chili powder (was out), I used apple cider vinegar in place of white vinegar and prepared mustard instead of dry. (and I added 1 tsp of garlic powder and 1/2 tsp of onion powder and didn't cover with foil so it would thicken better) In the last 10 minutes (baked for an hour and 10) I poured the sauce from the pan into a small saucepan and reduced it on medium to thicken it up while the chicken got a little crisp on the top. (this also gets rid of the extra water if it's too thin for you) Then I poured the sauce over the finished chicken. It wasn't sticky thick, but it wasn't watery either. It was perfect. And I'm picky about sauces. Reducing not only thickened the sauce, it intensified the flavor so I'd still do it that way again. My husband loved it! It didn't have a spicy kick but still amazing. Tomorrow I'm tripling the sauce recipe and reducing on the stove to jar it for our BBQ on the 4th. This will be outstanding brushed on grilled shrimp, salmon or pork. LOVE.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christine Gofron

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bolingbrook, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2015
I did it.I finally fully cooked baked chicken legs. I use to under cook it so much. I'm so happy. Thank you thank you thank you. It's not gorgeous but that's okay with me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tamiya Bell

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2015
I eliminated the water as suggest but the sauce was still running and not flavorful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2015
I am new to cooking, but cooking this was a breeze! I did everything by the book and it turned out flawless! It was so delicious that my husband ate the whole pot! The chicken was falling off the bone! Must make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2015
my family loved this recipe, my sauce was not thick so i scooped some sauce in a small dish to dip, it was awesome, i also had to replace the worcestershire sauce with A1.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 133) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Oven BBQ Chicken Drumsticks

Baked chicken with homemade BBQ sauce.

Oven Roasted Teriyaki Chicken

Homemade teriyaki sauce adds lip-smacking flavor to roasted chicken thighs.

Oven Fried Parmesan Chicken

A quick and tasty way to jazz up your chicken dinner.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States