Oven BBQ Chicken Drumsticks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Christine Gofron
Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2015
Having been Chicago residents for a long time (my husband is a lifer, I'm going on 25 years) we are loyal to the local sauce that first made it's debut at the Taste of Chicago about 25 years ago, Sweet Baby Ray's. So neither of us are big fans of the thinner vinegar-heavy sauces. Correction -- neither of us were big fans, until now. I had to make a few alterations based on what was in the pantry, but still an outstanding sauce! Also, since I had 12 drumsticks (lunch leftovers!) I doubled the recipe. I omitted the chili powder (was out), I used apple cider vinegar in place of white vinegar and prepared mustard instead of dry. (and I added 1 tsp of garlic powder and 1/2 tsp of onion powder and didn't cover with foil so it would thicken better) In the last 10 minutes (baked for an hour and 10) I poured the sauce from the pan into a small saucepan and reduced it on medium to thicken it up while the chicken got a little crisp on the top. (this also gets rid of the extra water if it's too thin for you) Then I poured the sauce over the finished chicken. It wasn't sticky thick, but it wasn't watery either. It was perfect. And I'm picky about sauces. Reducing not only thickened the sauce, it intensified the flavor so I'd still do it that way again. My husband loved it! It didn't have a spicy kick but still amazing. Tomorrow I'm tripling the sauce recipe and reducing on the stove to jar it for our BBQ on the 4th. This will be outstanding brushed on grilled shrimp, salmon or pork. LOVE.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christine Gofron

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bolingbrook, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2015
I did it.I finally fully cooked baked chicken legs. I use to under cook it so much. I'm so happy. Thank you thank you thank you. It's not gorgeous but that's okay with me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tamiya Bell

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2015
I eliminated the water as suggest but the sauce was still running and not flavorful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2015
I am new to cooking, but cooking this was a breeze! I did everything by the book and it turned out flawless! It was so delicious that my husband ate the whole pot! The chicken was falling off the bone! Must make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2015
my family loved this recipe, my sauce was not thick so i scooped some sauce in a small dish to dip, it was awesome, i also had to replace the worcestershire sauce with A1.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2015
This was great. A very simple way to make a lot of BBQ chicken and not have to watch it. I made 12-14 drumsticks so I doubled the sauce recipe except for the salt. There's plenty of salt in ketchup. I also did include the water although the video mentioned they did not. The sauce was perfect. The only recipe change I made was to sprinkle poultry seasoning on the chicken before I added the sauce. We personally do not like super thick BBQ sauce. I always add about 1 Tbl. or more of water to bottles of store bought sauce. It thickened up just right til the chicken was done. Also a great way to make larger batches of chicken for parties. You can always throw it on the grill for a few minutes just before serving. We will definitely make this again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by djc1954

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Sunbury, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Cheryl Rene'e
Reviewed: May 19, 2015
I made my own BBQ sauce. I would definitely be making this recipe again! ?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cheryl Rene'e

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2015
This is one of the best recipes that I've tried in awhile. My husband was so impressed with this dinner and my toddler ate two pieces of chicken (that means a lot)! The only small changes that I made was that I used chicken thighs. I split them in two and had drumsticks and thighs as my cuts of meats. I liked this a lot more than just using drumsticks. I also added freshly chopped garlic to the sauce because we love garlic around here! I covered the chicken with the tinfoil for half the cooking time and then removed the foil for the other half, allowing the chicken to crisp up and the sauce to thicken. The sauce tasted delicious on the rice that I served it with. A side of broccoli rounded the whole thing out and we really enjoyed it. My toddler loved the sauce, even with the spicy kick to it. My husband demanded that I add this recipe into our every day dinner rotation! I didn't disagree!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Goldana

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2015
I'm not sure what I did wrong but I really didn't care for this recipe. I thought it was bland and also thought the chicken was tough. I followed the advice of others and didn't add the water either.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2015
This was absolutely delicious! I didn't have dry mustard on hand so I used a couple of squirts of regular mustard and it was still very good. I will be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbus, Georgia, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 128) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Oven BBQ Chicken Drumsticks

Baked chicken with homemade BBQ sauce.

Oven Roasted Teriyaki Chicken

Homemade teriyaki sauce adds lip-smacking flavor to roasted chicken thighs.

Oven Fried Parmesan Chicken

A quick and tasty way to jazz up your chicken dinner.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States