Oven BBQ Chicken Drumsticks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2014
Followed other reviewers and omitted the water and added garlic & onion salt, teaspoon liquid smoke. Fantastic! Definitely added to my cookbook and placed in rotation. even 2 people who dont like chicken went for seconds. amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ~*CountryGirlGourmet*~
Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2014
After reading other reviews I omitted the water completely. I did not have Worcestershire sauce so I just added some onion powder, garlic powder and pepper. I also added some cayenne. I baked for 30 minutes covered, flipped and ladled sauce onto of chicken and then 30 minutes uncovered. The sauce never thickened up and was very soupy. Before serving I ladled more sauce on top of drumsticks. My family loved the chicken and it was very moist and juicy/ fall off the bone. Just wish the sauce would have thickened up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ~*CountryGirlGourmet*~

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Raeford, North Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2014
I agree with leaving out the water. The sauce was O.K. My kids didn't really like it. Said it would be better to use a bottled sauce. I followed the recipe exactly, except for leaving out the water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2014
This recipe is terrible. Or the bbq "sauce" recipe is terrible rather. The "bbq sauce" portion just makes a watery soupy mess.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chase Wilson

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2014
The liquid had a nice flavor, but TOO MUCH WATER! With all of that water then covering to bake, it just boiled the chicken. If you're going to make this, leave the water out, maybe add a tablespoon or two if you need to and I wouldn't leave it covered all throughout the cooking. I left mine uncovered for the last 30 minutes and the only bits that had some half decent flavor were the ones that weren't touching the boiling liquid.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karen

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2014
I like it. My kids and husband were very happy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2014
This recipe was easy to prepare. I did not add water and only used half the vinegar. The sauce was very liquid & the chicken did not look anything like the picture. I ended up removing the foil, putting it under the broiler and adding BBQ sauce. There was way too much fluid in bottom of pan! Had good flavor & moistness, but next time will remove skin and baste with sauce not drown it in a flavored fluid.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by D Kensing

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by FruitoftheHands
Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2014
My husband and friends thought these came out delicious! I only added about half the water, and poured all the sauce over the chicken. I cooked uncovered, flipped the chicken half way, and then broiled on high for the last 10 minutes to crisp up the skin. The sauce thickened just fine and came out really tasty. They didn't come off the bone as easily as I would have liked though, they could have used about 15 more minutes in the oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2014
Good recipe with some minor tweaks. I cut the brown sugar down to 2T and the salt to 1 tsp. I omitted the water, but added a splash of low sodium chicken broth to the sauce to thin it out slightly right before coating the chicken. I also heeded the advice of other reviewers and cooked it 30 minutes covered and then 45 minutes uncovered. I flipped the chicken twice while it was uncovered. The drumsticks came out really juicy and flavorful. I think next time though I will leave out the salt altogether. This is a great recipe when you need to put something together quickly as I had all the sauce ingredients on hand already.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Meg Mae

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2014
The sauce was way too runny. However, my little brother liked it. I believe in second chances, so I may alter the recipe next time. ------- Next Time: This was amazing! I just cut down a little on the water and the vinegar, and used regular mustard instead of the powder, and the sauce didn't turn out too runny.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TheMagician

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Mossyrock, Washington, USA
Living In: Salem, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 69) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Exotic Pomegranate Chicken

Pomegranate juice makes a great marinade for baked chicken.

Oven Roasted Teriyaki Chicken

Homemade teriyaki sauce adds lip-smacking flavor to roasted chicken thighs.

Sweet Hot Mustard Chicken Thighs

See how to make baked chicken thighs with a sweet, hot mustard glaze.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States