Oven BBQ Chicken Drumsticks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2015
I made this tonight and everyone loved it, including 2 grandchildren, 8 and 12. I did not use the water and it was fine, just enough for 8 large chicken legs (no thighs). I took the foil off the last 15 minutes and the sauce thickened nicely. Next time I would use less dry mustard, 2 tsp as it was a bit hot. I did use only 1 tsp chilli powder as I only had chipotle and it seemed strong enough. Otherwise, great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2015
Very good! Per the reviews I omitted the water, which was a good decision. Due to what I had on hand, I also used apple cider vinegar instead of white, one tablespoon of dijon instead of dry mustard, and just because I like bbq to be sweet I added a bit of pure maple syrup. I'll definitely be making this one again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amy Lou

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Rochester, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by AznAzukar
Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2015
I made this yesterday for a potluck and everyone loved it i added cayenne pepper to it and more garlic. Ty for the recipe :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2015
This was a tasty meal, I enjoyed it. Adding the vinegar was unique, and I liked a light vinegary flavor. As many reviewers mentioned, I omitted the water as the juice from the chicken was indeed plenty, and I didn't want to thin the sauce anymore. Also I agreed that it didn't need to be covered with foil, that way, the sauce became thickened like the typical BBQ chicken appearance. Took a bit longer than 60 min, more like 80 min. The other side would stay moistened because of the juice, but I was ok with it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by montycat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2015
Worst ever!! Sorry but it doesn't work. Covering the chicken is a terrible idea, it never crisp. Sauce has no consistency...... I did change the chicken to another backing dish (without the "sauce") and brushed it with Guy Fieri's brown sugar bbq sauve & Texas bbq rub.....then it turned out super.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lety23

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Huntsville, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2015
This is the second time I've made this recipe. The sauce is a little runny and doesn't coat the chicken, but if you marinade the chicken in the sauce for an hour or so you still get the great flavors and can use the sauce to pour over rice. Spices were spot on and I didn't change a thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2015
My 14 year old son made it and it was really great. But instead of making the sauce he used Sweet Baby Rays.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stephanie Scott

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2015
I agree, I would not add water,way to thin
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2015
Everyone liked it, even me and I'm not usually a drumstick person. Sauce has great flavor. I substituted regular mustard for dry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2015
Could not taste the sauce as the water thins it out a lot..but chicken was tender.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 114) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Plan Your Easter Brunch
Plan Your Easter Brunch

Breakfast casseroles, drinks, fancy eggs, and brunch ideas for a sweet Easter event.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Exotic Pomegranate Chicken

Pomegranate juice makes a great marinade for baked chicken.

Oven Roasted Teriyaki Chicken

Homemade teriyaki sauce adds lip-smacking flavor to roasted chicken thighs.

Cherry Bomb BBQ Chicken

See how to make BBQ chicken with explosively good flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States