Oven BBQ Chicken Drumsticks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2014
don't add water to this recipe, for the chicken you bought at the store has enough in it already. the author probably used free range chicken, that wasn't injected with water. stores do this to make the chicken weigh more which means you pay more. so don't blame the author or anyone else because you didn't think before rating this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2014
Wonderful flavor and so easy. I followed the advice of other reviewers: omitted the water and didn't cover. I also added a little liquid smoke flavor. I'll be making this often!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2014
Disappointed :( I read several reviews before preparing this today and decided to omit the water like others stated. Also uncovered halfway in and let cook an extra 10 minutes, but the sauce never thickened. Consistency of water. I wish I had added cornstarch but the sauce did have a thickness to it before baking so I decided not to. Wish it had worked out, because the sauce DID smell and taste very good, just didnt stay on the meat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Whitney Fuller

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Mel
Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2014
Followed the recipe, but I removed the cover after about 20 mins and cooked for another 50 mins uncovered. Came out perfect, black sticky bits, no sauce left in the pan, moist meat. My oven is basic, hot, and heats from the bottom, and I used a cast iron baking dish. This is a great recipe, it needs cooking times and method to be adjusted to your oven, it needs HEAT.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2014
Delicious. I read the other comments most didn't use the water I did and I didn't cover it either. I put half of the sauce first cooked it for 30 min and flipped it and put the rest of the sauce after poking holes in the chicken cooked it for an extra hour flipping it every 30 min the sauce was nice and thick the chicken was nice and tender and the family was happy. I will never use bbq sauce out the bottle again loved it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sol Tirse

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2014
It came out really soupy yet the chicken was dry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kimi Lynn Smith

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2014
Just made this for supper and it was a huge hit, even with my fussy four and two year olds. I did add the water to the sauce but omitted the butter and salt. Also left the cover off for the entire cooking time. Perfect! The sauce thickened up and was excellent over mashed potatoes. The chicken was crispy, moist and fell off the bone. The best part was it was so EASY. Just whisk a few things together, pour over chicken and stick in the oven. Couldn't ask for anything better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ericsmom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sackville, New Brunswick, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2014
Disappointed. Sauce was way too thin. Drumsticks boiled in sauce rather than bake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joel de L

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2014
If I made this again I might replace some of the chili powder with cayenne.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2014
Wow! How easy is this! I followed the recipe exactly as written, and then followed the suggestions that were listed in the reviews (to take the foil off at the half-way point, and to cook 10-15 minutes extra. The liquidy sauce (which I was concerned about) thickened up right at the end, and the chicken came right off the bone. A keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 88) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Exotic Pomegranate Chicken

Pomegranate juice makes a great marinade for baked chicken.

Oven Roasted Teriyaki Chicken

Homemade teriyaki sauce adds lip-smacking flavor to roasted chicken thighs.

Sweet Hot Mustard Chicken Thighs

See how to make baked chicken thighs with a sweet, hot mustard glaze.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States