Outrageously Buttery Crumb Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2014
This recipe is perfect. I didn't change anything to it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2014
I thought it was good but I felt that the crumb topping had too much flour and not enough brown sugar. It is also a ridiculous amount of crumb topping for a 9 x 13 cake. I will experiment with the amounts when I make it next. I used a Duncan Hines yellow butter cake mix and followed directions and it was moist and delicious, but the crumb topping looked a little anemic and was on the dry side. It was well received but I am going to fiddle with the crumb topping next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2014
I made this the other day. This is really just a review for the crumbs. I love crumb cakes that are more crumb than cake and was really excited for this, but it was disappointing. It came out much more bland than I hoped. The amount of crumb is excellent for crumb-lovers, but they were bland. I agree with other users who say it tastes like "something is missing." I even added more cinnamon and brown sugar and it was still not as flavorful as I'd hoped. In honesty, I like Trader Joe's coffee crumb cake mix better. Who knew!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2013
This recipe was excellent.....the only thing I did add was a box of instant vanilla pudding to the cake mix. I love moist cakes and the instant vanilla pudding makes it so moist!! Also, I added all the crumb topping to the cake after baking 17 minutes in a 13x9 Wilton pan. Absolutely amazing!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Donna

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Massapequa Park, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2013
Made this for Christmas one year. My family has always rather eat the crumb than the cake. It was such a huge hit that this past year I had to make 3; one for guests, one for my parents and one for my in laws. The cake is so moist!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2013
Awesome cake......teachers gobbled it up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jeannie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2013
I love the extra topping! This is so much easier using the box cake when your in a hurry. I can't wait to make this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2013
Help what did I do wrong...never got crumbs out of the mixture...the cake is not done at 35 minutes already...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2013
the recommended jellyroll pan for the crumb cake was 18 x 12. Searched everywhere in columbus, Ohio for this size to no avail. Where is that size pan available? Sheila (sbsloan@sbcglobal.net)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2013
I made this in a 13 X 9 pan and I cut the topping down by 1/3. I was very happy with the result. Very Moist, PLENTY of topping. I did cook it a few minutes longer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 49) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Lemon Cake

This moist, delicious lemon sheet cake is so quick and easy to make!

Brownie Cupcake: The 2nd Best Cupcake Ever

See how to make a vanilla cupcake with a secret surprise inside.

How to Make Tres Leches Cake

See how to make a classic, super-moist yellow cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States