Outrageously Buttery Crumb Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2015
My family loves this cake. Its easy to make and the kids love to help make the crumbs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Stuart, Florida, USA
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Barbara Denzler Cruz
Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2014
I made this for my Christmas work party. Everyone raved about it! Only changes I made was 1 additional tbsp of cinnamon and 1/2 tsp more vanilla extract. Super delish! I miss NJ style crumb cake and now I can have it here in AZ! I am making it tonight as well, with my 13 y\o daughter! Happy New Years Eve!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2014
Excellent recipe the flavor is amazing and texture is perfect
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Loribill Vanwagner

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2014
DELISH! I used DH Moist Deluxe Butter mix and followed the instructions on the box. I was a little nervous making the crumb topping because it seemed very dry with all of the flour but the butter will melt and the end result is a wonderfully thick crumb topping. If you decide to reduce the amount of crumb topping remember to proportionately cut back the topping ingredients as they wont come out correctly - either too wet (not enough flour) or dry (not enough butter). I also used a glass 9X13 dish. Make sure you remember to grease the dish/pan. I will bake this again.. maybe with fresh Fall apples? The topping reminds me of almost a 'crisp' topping, minus the oats. Regardless, it will be delicious as is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2014
I did not care for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2014
Waaay too much flour. If I do this cake again I would definitely cut the flour in half at least.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2014
This recipe is perfect. I didn't change anything to it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2014
I thought it was good but I felt that the crumb topping had too much flour and not enough brown sugar. It is also a ridiculous amount of crumb topping for a 9 x 13 cake. I will experiment with the amounts when I make it next. I used a Duncan Hines yellow butter cake mix and followed directions and it was moist and delicious, but the crumb topping looked a little anemic and was on the dry side. It was well received but I am going to fiddle with the crumb topping next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2014
I made this the other day. This is really just a review for the crumbs. I love crumb cakes that are more crumb than cake and was really excited for this, but it was disappointing. It came out much more bland than I hoped. The amount of crumb is excellent for crumb-lovers, but they were bland. I agree with other users who say it tastes like "something is missing." I even added more cinnamon and brown sugar and it was still not as flavorful as I'd hoped. In honesty, I like Trader Joe's coffee crumb cake mix better. Who knew!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2013
This recipe was excellent.....the only thing I did add was a box of instant vanilla pudding to the cake mix. I love moist cakes and the instant vanilla pudding makes it so moist!! Also, I added all the crumb topping to the cake after baking 17 minutes in a 13x9 Wilton pan. Absolutely amazing!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Donna Freund- Anderson

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Massapequa Park, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 55) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Lemon Cake

This moist, delicious lemon sheet cake is so quick and easy to make!

Brownie Cupcake: The 2nd Best Cupcake Ever

See how to make a vanilla cupcake with a secret surprise inside.

How to Make Tres Leches Cake

See how to make a classic, super-moist yellow cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States