Outrageously Buttery Crumb Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 14, 2010
Yum....I was looking for a classic crumb cake and this was great, esp if you are a "more crumb. less cake" person. I added all crumbs to bake at once instead adding the rest later. I'll add a little more cinnamon next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
74 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2010
I used to make this cake all the time and lost the recipe years ago. Only difference - I use the "butter" cake mix. This is the best crumb cake. Thanks for posting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Greenwich, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2010
Follows the recipe to a T...would not fully bake. Not sure what happened? Smelled delicious but not edible. I may try again but not real excited as the first was a waste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2010
DELISH!!!! FOLLOWED RECIPE EXACTLY & LOOOOOVED IT! OUR 5 YR OLD SON YUMMED HIS WAY THRU IT! I WAS SOOO EXCITED TO FIND THIS RECIPE- IM A MORE CRUMB THAN CAKE KINDA GAL :P THANKS FOR SHARING
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by rgilmore212
Reviewed: May 25, 2010
Sheila - amazon has 12x18 jellyroll pan... http://www.amazon.com/Wilton-Jelly-Roll-Cookie-Inches/dp/B0000CFMLC Lisa B - question but is your oven temp correct? Next time, just follow the cake mix instructions then add the topping last last few minutes of cooking time. Be sure to press down the crumbs into the cake. The crumb texture will be more on the dry side but not too dry. Whether you choose to use butter or margarine, it will melt with the mixture in the oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: New York, New York, USA
Reviewed: May 25, 2010
I'm sorry, but these bars were too dry. Way too much crumb topping. 4 1/2 cups flour....I still can't believe that is correct. Any this receipe is not a keeper. SORRY
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2010
Great cake. I made this for my daughter's school bake sale and it was a huge hit. I followed my cake mix instructions and added the crumbs when the cake was almost golden. It 's still moist several days later. Maybe the other reviewer didn't add enough butter? If you cut back on butter I would think you would cut back on the crumb ingredients as well. I will make again, soon! Thanks for the easy recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2010
Easy recipe but a little bland. I think I would change the cake to a lemon cake to punch it up a little bit. The topping really does make a lot; I didn't use all of it and still had a nice layer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisacooksnow

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Living In: Mechanicsville, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2010
My family and friends loved this cake. It was very simple. I followed the recipe almost exactly -I did use Duncan Hines Butter cake mix and about 1/4 less crumbs and there was still a lot. This is a keeper!! (It goes great with coffee).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2010
GREAT! Loved it! I all of the topping!! You just need to know how to bake a basic cake and the topping just comes together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 54) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Lemon Cake

This moist, delicious lemon sheet cake is so quick and easy to make!

Brownie Cupcake: The 2nd Best Cupcake Ever

See how to make a vanilla cupcake with a secret surprise inside.

How to Make Tres Leches Cake

See how to make a classic, super-moist yellow cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States