Outrageously Buttery Crumb Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2010
I've been making this cake for some time with a few tweaks. I always use a 13 x 9 pan but add one and a half cans of Comstock fruit filling (cherry, blueberry and apple seem to always be the biggest hits) on top of the baked cake, then press the crumb mixture on top of that..and bake the rest of the way. Thank you for jogging my memory about the vanilla extract. Doing it from memory..the crumb mixture seemed to be missing something. Now I know! I get rave reviews on this fruit crumbcake at work!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tisha G

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Middletown, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2010
Has become go-to recipe. Crumb comes out better made with margarine over butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Traci

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ozone Park, New York, USA
Living In: Milford, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2010
I was really excited to make this cake. Very dissappointed because it had no taste. Are you sure it's that much flour in the crumbs?? I have a huge sweet tooth and was anticipating a very sugary taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2010
this cake was extremely dry and did not stay together, it kept falling apart.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2010
I usually don't review but after seeing mixed reviews I had to say something. This cake is really good and very easy. If you can follow instructions, it won't be dry. How can people say it's dry but yet undercooked?? It was a hit at our town's spring block party.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2010
I usually just avoid rating if I don't like but this was a dry disaster.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christine Woodall
Home Town: Cartersville, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2010
GREAT! Loved it! I all of the topping!! You just need to know how to bake a basic cake and the topping just comes together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2010
My family and friends loved this cake. It was very simple. I followed the recipe almost exactly -I did use Duncan Hines Butter cake mix and about 1/4 less crumbs and there was still a lot. This is a keeper!! (It goes great with coffee).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2010
Easy recipe but a little bland. I think I would change the cake to a lemon cake to punch it up a little bit. The topping really does make a lot; I didn't use all of it and still had a nice layer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisacooksnow

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Living In: Mechanicsville, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2010
Great cake. I made this for my daughter's school bake sale and it was a huge hit. I followed my cake mix instructions and added the crumbs when the cake was almost golden. It 's still moist several days later. Maybe the other reviewer didn't add enough butter? If you cut back on butter I would think you would cut back on the crumb ingredients as well. I will make again, soon! Thanks for the easy recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 56) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Let the Slow Cooker Handle It
Let the Slow Cooker Handle It

The best wintertime meals need a long, slow simmer while you're doing something else.

Get Your Money's Worth
Get Your Money's Worth

Our big collection of budget recipes will leave some jingle in your pocket.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Lemon Cake

This moist, delicious lemon sheet cake is so quick and easy to make!

Brownie Cupcake: The 2nd Best Cupcake Ever

See how to make a vanilla cupcake with a secret surprise inside.

How to Make Tres Leches Cake

See how to make a classic, super-moist yellow cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States