Outrageously Buttery Crumb Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2012
I have made this cake for years. I like cake mixes with pudding included in them. I've used many different flavored cake mixes, the favorite was always a good chocolate. I always use a large cookie sheet with 2 inch sides, then each bite is half cake and half crumbs. I always wanted to add fruit (pie topping) but wasn't sure if I had to bake the cake longer before adding it. I was concerned it might get mushy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2012
This cake is delicious. Everyone loved it. I accidentally left out one stick of butter in the crumb topping though and it still turned out fantastic. Tons of crumbs! I think it would be really good also if apples were added under the crumbs. I think I will try that next time. I used a 13x9 pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2012
I think next time I will make the cake the way the box says vs following the recipe, and will prob sub butter cake mix vs yellow it didn't rise like I wanted it to. Also my crumbs came out too dry. Could be because it was my 1st time but I'm known for my cakes and this did not represent me well at all. But with a few adjustments I think I can make it work for next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2012
This cake is soo good and better than expected. I was nervous based on some of the reviews but decided to use it for a bake sale, it sold out and I was asked numerous times for the recipe. ... To be honest, I think some of the other reviewers just don't know how to follow a packaged cake recipe. I don't understand how the cake wouldn't be cooked.... check your oven temperature. I did use margarine and more cinnamon which are part of the Footnotes - Cook's Notes -I used a jellyroll pan -Margarine - per cooks notes -More cinnamon -Followed cake mix package instruction (used butter cake mix) -Made ALL of the crumbs including the 4 1/2 cups of flour (you just need to blend well) the margarine absorbs the four mixture) -Yes there were a lot of crumbs, but that's what I wanted. PERFECT!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2012
Good but not great. I used a Betty Crocker Butter Recipe Cake Mix & only made/used one half of the topping which was more than enough for a 13 X 9 pan. The crumb topping was good but the cake was a little dry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Chandler, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 29, 2012
I had to do a trial run first. I learned a lot from the first go around. You really need to use less flower for the crumbs and more butter when making the crumb topping. Other then that I love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2012
Good recipe. First time, I tried it in 2 round cake pans, but should have spread into 3. It was still really good for such a simple recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rhonda Boyd Peters

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2012
The only thing I changed is the amount of Flour in the crumb mixture. it was more doughy than sweet like I think of the crumbs. Plus there is far more crumb than is needed. I cut back by 1.5 cups. This made it a little sweeter and a little sticky. Either way a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Milpitas, California, USA
Living In: Pahrump, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2012
For the topping I did way less flour that it called for, more brown sugar and maybe a little less butter and added salt till it tasted right. For the people who say the cake part was dry... I have noticed butter recipe cake mixes always come out dryer and more bland than the yellow cake mixes so I would recommend the yellow cake mix vs the butter recipe box. Hope this helps! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2012
I thought the picture looked great! tasted so bad I'm sorry
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 58) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Grilled Burgers For the 4th
Grilled Burgers For the 4th

Check out our collection of almost 200 grilled burger recipes.

Potato Salad On the Side
Potato Salad On the Side

A cookout isn't complete without a big bowl of potato salad. We have hundreds for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Lemon Cake

This moist, delicious lemon sheet cake is so quick and easy to make!

How to Make Tres Leches Cake

See how to make a classic, super-moist yellow cake.

Brownie Cupcake: The 2nd Best Cupcake Ever

See how to make a vanilla cupcake with a secret surprise inside.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States