Outrageously Buttery Crumb Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2012
I think next time I will make the cake the way the box says vs following the recipe, and will prob sub butter cake mix vs yellow it didn't rise like I wanted it to. Also my crumbs came out too dry. Could be because it was my 1st time but I'm known for my cakes and this did not represent me well at all. But with a few adjustments I think I can make it work for next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2012
This cake is soo good and better than expected. I was nervous based on some of the reviews but decided to use it for a bake sale, it sold out and I was asked numerous times for the recipe. ... To be honest, I think some of the other reviewers just don't know how to follow a packaged cake recipe. I don't understand how the cake wouldn't be cooked.... check your oven temperature. I did use margarine and more cinnamon which are part of the Footnotes - Cook's Notes -I used a jellyroll pan -Margarine - per cooks notes -More cinnamon -Followed cake mix package instruction (used butter cake mix) -Made ALL of the crumbs including the 4 1/2 cups of flour (you just need to blend well) the margarine absorbs the four mixture) -Yes there were a lot of crumbs, but that's what I wanted. PERFECT!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2012
Good but not great. I used a Betty Crocker Butter Recipe Cake Mix & only made/used one half of the topping which was more than enough for a 13 X 9 pan. The crumb topping was good but the cake was a little dry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Chandler, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 29, 2012
I had to do a trial run first. I learned a lot from the first go around. You really need to use less flower for the crumbs and more butter when making the crumb topping. Other then that I love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2012
Good recipe. First time, I tried it in 2 round cake pans, but should have spread into 3. It was still really good for such a simple recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rhonda Boyd Peters

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2012
The only thing I changed is the amount of Flour in the crumb mixture. it was more doughy than sweet like I think of the crumbs. Plus there is far more crumb than is needed. I cut back by 1.5 cups. This made it a little sweeter and a little sticky. Either way a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Milpitas, California, USA
Living In: Pahrump, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2012
For the topping I did way less flour that it called for, more brown sugar and maybe a little less butter and added salt till it tasted right. For the people who say the cake part was dry... I have noticed butter recipe cake mixes always come out dryer and more bland than the yellow cake mixes so I would recommend the yellow cake mix vs the butter recipe box. Hope this helps! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2012
I thought the picture looked great! tasted so bad I'm sorry
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2011
Too bad, I had high hopes for this cake. The cake did not cook all the way and most of the crumb topping sunk towards the middle. The outer edges were cooked but I had to thow this away. Cooked it in a 13x 9 glass dish, but followed everything else to a T. So disappointed this was a waste of money. I think I'll stick to crumb cake at my local coffee shop.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2011
First, thank you for sharing the recipe. I thought it was good but wasn't "amazing". A little disappointed but still good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: East Meadow, New York, USA
Living In: Bethpage, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 56) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Let the Slow Cooker Handle It
Let the Slow Cooker Handle It

The best wintertime meals need a long, slow simmer while you're doing something else.

Get Your Money's Worth
Get Your Money's Worth

Our big collection of budget recipes will leave some jingle in your pocket.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Lemon Cake

This moist, delicious lemon sheet cake is so quick and easy to make!

Brownie Cupcake: The 2nd Best Cupcake Ever

See how to make a vanilla cupcake with a secret surprise inside.

How to Make Tres Leches Cake

See how to make a classic, super-moist yellow cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States