Outrageously Buttery Crumb Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2014
I made this the other day. This is really just a review for the crumbs. I love crumb cakes that are more crumb than cake and was really excited for this, but it was disappointing. It came out much more bland than I hoped. The amount of crumb is excellent for crumb-lovers, but they were bland. I agree with other users who say it tastes like "something is missing." I even added more cinnamon and brown sugar and it was still not as flavorful as I'd hoped. In honesty, I like Trader Joe's coffee crumb cake mix better. Who knew!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2013
This recipe was excellent.....the only thing I did add was a box of instant vanilla pudding to the cake mix. I love moist cakes and the instant vanilla pudding makes it so moist!! Also, I added all the crumb topping to the cake after baking 17 minutes in a 13x9 Wilton pan. Absolutely amazing!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Donna Freund- Anderson

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Massapequa Park, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2013
Made this for Christmas one year. My family has always rather eat the crumb than the cake. It was such a huge hit that this past year I had to make 3; one for guests, one for my parents and one for my in laws. The cake is so moist!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2013
Awesome cake......teachers gobbled it up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jeannie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2013
I love the extra topping! This is so much easier using the box cake when your in a hurry. I can't wait to make this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2013
Help what did I do wrong...never got crumbs out of the mixture...the cake is not done at 35 minutes already...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2013
the recommended jellyroll pan for the crumb cake was 18 x 12. Searched everywhere in columbus, Ohio for this size to no avail. Where is that size pan available? Sheila (sbsloan@sbcglobal.net)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2013
I made this in a 13 X 9 pan and I cut the topping down by 1/3. I was very happy with the result. Very Moist, PLENTY of topping. I did cook it a few minutes longer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Eileen Leyrer

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2013
Fabulous recipe! Makes a large pan and for the crumb lovers - perfect! I'm trying it today with a layer of raspberry jam under the crumb topping - I'll keep you posted!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2012
I have made this cake for years. I like cake mixes with pudding included in them. I've used many different flavored cake mixes, the favorite was always a good chocolate. I always use a large cookie sheet with 2 inch sides, then each bite is half cake and half crumbs. I always wanted to add fruit (pie topping) but wasn't sure if I had to bake the cake longer before adding it. I was concerned it might get mushy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 57) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Lemon Cake

This moist, delicious lemon sheet cake is so quick and easy to make!

How to Make Tres Leches Cake

See how to make a classic, super-moist yellow cake.

Brownie Cupcake: The 2nd Best Cupcake Ever

See how to make a vanilla cupcake with a secret surprise inside.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States