Outrageously Buttery Crumb Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2014
DELISH! I used DH Moist Deluxe Butter mix and followed the instructions on the box. I was a little nervous making the crumb topping because it seemed very dry with all of the flour but the butter will melt and the end result is a wonderfully thick crumb topping. If you decide to reduce the amount of crumb topping remember to proportionately cut back the topping ingredients as they wont come out correctly - either too wet (not enough flour) or dry (not enough butter). I also used a glass 9X13 dish. Make sure you remember to grease the dish/pan. I will bake this again.. maybe with fresh Fall apples? The topping reminds me of almost a 'crisp' topping, minus the oats. Regardless, it will be delicious as is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2014
I did not care for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2014
Waaay too much flour. If I do this cake again I would definitely cut the flour in half at least.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2014
This recipe is perfect. I didn't change anything to it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2014
I thought it was good but I felt that the crumb topping had too much flour and not enough brown sugar. It is also a ridiculous amount of crumb topping for a 9 x 13 cake. I will experiment with the amounts when I make it next. I used a Duncan Hines yellow butter cake mix and followed directions and it was moist and delicious, but the crumb topping looked a little anemic and was on the dry side. It was well received but I am going to fiddle with the crumb topping next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2014
I made this the other day. This is really just a review for the crumbs. I love crumb cakes that are more crumb than cake and was really excited for this, but it was disappointing. It came out much more bland than I hoped. The amount of crumb is excellent for crumb-lovers, but they were bland. I agree with other users who say it tastes like "something is missing." I even added more cinnamon and brown sugar and it was still not as flavorful as I'd hoped. In honesty, I like Trader Joe's coffee crumb cake mix better. Who knew!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2013
This recipe was excellent.....the only thing I did add was a box of instant vanilla pudding to the cake mix. I love moist cakes and the instant vanilla pudding makes it so moist!! Also, I added all the crumb topping to the cake after baking 17 minutes in a 13x9 Wilton pan. Absolutely amazing!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Donna Freund- Anderson

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Massapequa Park, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2013
Made this for Christmas one year. My family has always rather eat the crumb than the cake. It was such a huge hit that this past year I had to make 3; one for guests, one for my parents and one for my in laws. The cake is so moist!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2013
Awesome cake......teachers gobbled it up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jeannie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2013
I love the extra topping! This is so much easier using the box cake when your in a hurry. I can't wait to make this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 52) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Lemon Cake

This moist, delicious lemon sheet cake is so quick and easy to make!

Brownie Cupcake: The 2nd Best Cupcake Ever

See how to make a vanilla cupcake with a secret surprise inside.

How to Make Tres Leches Cake

See how to make a classic, super-moist yellow cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States