Outrageously Buttery Crumb Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2015
This recipe is excellent. My first time making a crumb cake and it turned out beautifully - very moist, with lots of crumbs. If anything, I might add more crumbs next time. For the most part I followed the recipe - the yellow cake mix I bought was 15 ounces not 18 and I added a 5 ounce bag of vanilla pudding mix. I also added caramel filled chocolate morsels to the cake - it turned out well but next time I might pass. Definitely recommend the confectioner's sugar at the end. Thank you for sharing this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2015
Big hit at husbands work. I did add instant pudding. also made in Bundt pan which puts the crumb mixture on bottom. Probably wont do this again. Powdered sugar dusting a must. I used French Vanilla cake mix
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bonnie Mitchell

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2015
My family loves this cake. Its easy to make and the kids love to help make the crumbs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Stuart, Florida, USA
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Barbara Denzler Cruz
Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2014
I made this for my Christmas work party. Everyone raved about it! Only changes I made was 1 additional tbsp of cinnamon and 1/2 tsp more vanilla extract. Super delish! I miss NJ style crumb cake and now I can have it here in AZ! I am making it tonight as well, with my 13 y\o daughter! Happy New Years Eve!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2014
Excellent recipe the flavor is amazing and texture is perfect
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Loribill Vanwagner

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2014
DELISH! I used DH Moist Deluxe Butter mix and followed the instructions on the box. I was a little nervous making the crumb topping because it seemed very dry with all of the flour but the butter will melt and the end result is a wonderfully thick crumb topping. If you decide to reduce the amount of crumb topping remember to proportionately cut back the topping ingredients as they wont come out correctly - either too wet (not enough flour) or dry (not enough butter). I also used a glass 9X13 dish. Make sure you remember to grease the dish/pan. I will bake this again.. maybe with fresh Fall apples? The topping reminds me of almost a 'crisp' topping, minus the oats. Regardless, it will be delicious as is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2014
I did not care for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2014
Waaay too much flour. If I do this cake again I would definitely cut the flour in half at least.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2014
This recipe is perfect. I didn't change anything to it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2014
I thought it was good but I felt that the crumb topping had too much flour and not enough brown sugar. It is also a ridiculous amount of crumb topping for a 9 x 13 cake. I will experiment with the amounts when I make it next. I used a Duncan Hines yellow butter cake mix and followed directions and it was moist and delicious, but the crumb topping looked a little anemic and was on the dry side. It was well received but I am going to fiddle with the crumb topping next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 57) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Lemon Cake

This moist, delicious lemon sheet cake is so quick and easy to make!

How to Make Tres Leches Cake

See how to make a classic, super-moist yellow cake.

Brownie Cupcake: The 2nd Best Cupcake Ever

See how to make a vanilla cupcake with a secret surprise inside.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States