Outrageous Caesar Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Photo by MOLLE888
Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2007
This was SO good! I was looking for a great Caesar recipe and this hit the nail on the head. Pungent, garlicky and delicious. I blended the dressing before adding in the egg so that I wouldn't have chunks of anchovy, and I'm glad I did. I used a mix of mustard powder and dijon, as suggested. I STRONGLY reccommend using Reggiano Parmigano... it's quite expensive, but once you taste it, you'll see why. I really enjoyed the homemade croutons as well. So much better than bottled Caesar dressing and boxed croutons!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MOLLE888

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bethesda, Maryland, USA
Living In: Fairfax, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2006
Good, but not great. Loved the croutons. The dressing was a bit strong, but good. If I make it again I'll use less anchovy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2006
I'm a big caesar dressing fan, and some how this didn't work out too well for me. Yes, i was a little squeamish about the anchovies, but still, to me it didn't taste right. i did use a little less cayenne, because i was also making this for my toddler who loves salad, but other than that i followed it to a T and to me, it didn't even taste like caeser dressing. I even mixed it with a small bowl of lettuce and still, "ick"!! off to find another recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2006
Yum! This was a very good Caesar salad. I don't like Caesar dressings containing mayonnaise, it adds a strange flavor. This is how Caesar dressing is supposed to taste! Thanks for a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Mcguire Afb, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2006
This was the best caesar dressing I think I've ever had. I substituted 2 Tablespoons of mayonaise in place of the egg and it turned out really good. I will use this recipe over and over.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2005
This is the greatest recipe ever! I have never been so flattered in all of my years of cooking than I was with this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Poughkeepsie, New York, USA
Living In: Warwick, Rhode Island, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2005
I didn't think it tasted like a caesar dressing at all! In fact, I think the coddled egg made me sick and nauseous all night! The croutons were good though. I'll be looking for something else...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2005
Doubled the amount of romaine and used the recommened amount of dressing for 4. I was a little nervous about going with the anchovies and raw eggs... but it was great!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2005
I love this recipe minus the cayenne and not so much garlic. It is the only way I'm able to enjoy a salad! Yummy Jeff thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Luella

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fairbanks, Alaska, USA
Living In: Spring, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2004
Loved it! Substituted olive oil for the safflower oil because I didn't have any on hand, and omitted the anchovies. Not sure if I coddled the egg right, but the result was still one of the best Caesar salads we've ever eaten. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 106) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Caesar Salad Supreme

See how to make a classic salad with garlic croutons and a creamy dressing.

Dannon Caesar Salad Supreme

Say hello to nutritious salad dressing without sacrificing taste.

Peach and Escarole Salad

See how to make a delicious salad with sweet peaches and fresh greens.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States