Outrageous Caesar Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2008
The first time I made this I followed the recipe exactly then I made it again and omitted the egg and anchovies and added I tablespoon of low fat mayo and it was just as good. This made it a lot easier and faster to whip up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Flowery Branch, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2008
Added too much garlic & anchovy. Very strong & salty
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2008
This was as close to tableside preparation taste as you'll get. Although, I will say that the Worcestershire may be a bit strong for most people's taste. Maybe a little less. 1tsp should suffice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JDOWNING

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: May 26, 2008
I was looking for a recipe for Caesar Salad dressing and found this one. The ingredients were consistent with what I was looking for, so I gave it a try. Very good - I made it for a crowd and received lots of compliments. A few things I did differently: First, I made a paste of the crushed garlic and kosher salt by mashing the garlic and salt together with the back of a spoon. Secondly, I omitted the cayenne (not a fan of hot) and anchovies (wasn't sure about the tastes of the crowd, so thought I'd play it safe) and substituted a bit of anchovy paste instead. Will add more next time, because I personally like the anchovy flavor. Thirdly, I put all the ingredients (minus the egg) in a small food processor to blend before whisking it into the egg. Last, I added 2 tablespoons of grated parmesan cheese to the dressing. I also substituted shredded parmesan for the grated Parmigiano Reggiano. I like the texture of the shredded cheese with the romaine rather than grated. I used dijon mustard and light olive oil, as suggested. I really enjoyed it and will definitely make again. Thanks Jeff!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Burr Ridge, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2008
Excellent!  I've had Caesar's at some of the finest restaurants (Ruth Chris, Del Frisco's etc...) and this rates right up there with them. I added grilled chicken and it was a nice meal. The amount of lemon juice in this recipe is perfect and adds a nice tartness. I used store bought crutons and it worked this time, but I will be making them next time. Thanks -this will be a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sayville, New York, USA
Living In: Spring Hill, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2008
This recipe was very good, although you may want to use less lemon than suggested, or taste as you go since mine came out a little too lemony. I also added very very finely fresh grated parmesan cheese to the dressing and used and electric mixer to blend it in; this added a little extra flavor and thickened it a bit, for those who like thicker dressings. Overall it was a pretty good recipe and definitely one I will use again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Louisville, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2008
Excellent recipe. Made it exactly as stated and added grilled chicken to it to make it a main dish salad. I would recommend doubling the dressing for a 4 person serving as this only made 3 servings and had to be stretched.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2008
this was great. i didnt have lemon juice so i used vinegar. and it's VERY salty. but still really good! next time i'll just decrease the salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Kenai, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2008
Best Caesar Salad I've ever made. Only change I made was to saute anchovies and garlic for 2 minutes before adding to dressing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Atlantic City, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2008
I used this as I could not find my own dressing recipe (it had been a while since I used it). No need to find my recipe! Yum was the word from my husband and friends. Made a great addition to our new years eve meal. I had to skip the anchovies for our friends, but will make it again and go for it. Thanks for sharing - you really helped me out when I was in a pinch!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 106) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Caesar Salad Supreme

See how to make a classic salad with garlic croutons and a creamy dressing.

Dannon Caesar Salad Supreme

Say hello to nutritious salad dressing without sacrificing taste.

Roquefort Pear Salad

This creamy, tangy salad has a delicious crunch from the pecans.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States