Outrageous Caesar Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2009
With all of the good reviews, I was very excited to try this recipe. However, I was disappointed. It was VERY salty tasting. I followed the recipe exactly, even the croutons, with the only change being that I used anchovy paste, and I mean only a drop of it for flavor. I won't be making this again. :(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2009
I used this recipe with only three alterations and it turned out fantastic! First, i left out the anchovies as neither my wife nor i like them. Also, I substituted prepared Dijon mustard for the dry mustard and I used 2 tablespoons of mayonnaise in place of the coddled egg. This produced a more creamy and less salty dressing that had the perfect Caesar flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Austin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA
Living In: Lawrenceville, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2009
This was really good. It was time consuming, but the results were very tasty. I will say that the anchovy taste was a bit overpowering. The croutons were the best part! I could eat those all day =). Good salad!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by April Ard Louviere

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Bainbridge, Georgia, USA
Living In: Tallahassee, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2009
Fantastic. I made this for my boyfriend for a special occasion, and now it is requested on a regular basis. The only change I made was using only 3/4 or so of the anchovies, and it was plenty strong. This is one of the easiest salad dressing recipes I use, and definately my favorite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brazierina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Murray, Kentucky, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2009
Oh ... My ... God ... this was delicious. I've never made a caesar salad dressing (or any dressing) from scratch before, but the ingredients for this recipe looked pretty accurate in terms of resembling the great Caesar salads I've had in restaurants. I used 4 tbsp instead of 6 tbsp of oil (I was hoping to make it slightly lower in calories) and omitted the anchovies (GF is a vegetarian, so I left them out but sprinkled some chopped anchovies on my salad instead because I love them!). Other than that, I followed the recipe (though I'm not sure I coddled the egg properly!!) The dressing was super-easy to make. Putting it in a jar and shaking it makes it so much easier than a lot of other recipes (which involve whisking or blenderizing). It instantly took on the perfect texture after shaking it for a few moments! Very thick and decadent! We actually only ended up using half the dressing and refrigerated the rest, and I just looked in the refrigerator and saw that it still maintained its thick texture hours later-- it hasn't separated at all! I really loved the salad and will definitely make it (or maybe just the dressing) over and over. If I make it again, I might use a bit more garlic and mash it up like other posters have suggested for even more garlic flavor. I think it might also be good to use pasturized egg protein for safety (plus the coddling is kind of a pain). Excellent recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2009
Absoultely the best Caesar Salad I have ever made~ or eaten! I took it to a dinner party last weekend and everyone loved it. I followed the recipe exactly, except I used a Egg Beaters vs raw egg. I am making it again this weekend, thanks Jeff.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Leonardtown, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2008
Awesome dressing!! I omitted the anchovies as I didn't have any, and used fresh mayo instead of an egg - turned out fabulous! Thank you Chef Jeff!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Suezie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2008
This dressing tastes fantastic, very classic and true. I did add a squirt of mayo, maybe about 1/2 Tbl, to make it a bit creamier. I also made it in a small food processor to blend it up and make it more frothy since I found that it was a bit runny. Overall it was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2008
Awesome caesar salad! Still good w/o the anchovies, but I use them and nobody seems to notice as long as I don't tell them they are in there!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: El Cajon, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2008
Awesome....ommited the anchovies because I couldn't find them, but followed the recipe using the dijon mustard and it was the most tasteful ceasar salad ever.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 106) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Not The Same Old Chicken
Not The Same Old Chicken

We have so many top-rated chicken recipes, you'll never run out of dinner ideas again.

Slow Cooker Time Savers
Slow Cooker Time Savers

Imagine dinner making itself in the slow cooker while you relax or do other things.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Caesar Salad Supreme

See how to make a classic salad with garlic croutons and a creamy dressing.

Dannon Caesar Salad Supreme

Say hello to nutritious salad dressing without sacrificing taste.

Roquefort Pear Salad

This creamy, tangy salad has a delicious crunch from the pecans.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States