Outrageous Caesar Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2009
I love this recipe but had issues with my family refusing to eat a caesar because of the " RAW" egg despite my coddling it...SOOO I found a solution that gives a creamy eggy touch. I soft boil an egg, cut into half...take the moist yolk out and mash it and put that into the rest of the ingredients. It helps with the taste and emulsification of the oil with the rest of the ingredients. My family is no long afraid to eat caesar salad and it is safer with the cooked yolk if your dressing other veggies with it for a pot luck dinner and might not be able to keep it cold. Haven't killed anyone yet with that extra step. Also if I want to make ahead of time for event 2-3 days ahead I mix it all up with raw egg...then pour dressing into a bottle and seal it then place it in a pan with hot water to the top and let it sit simmering for 10 mins. That takes can of "cooking" the egg and is safer to use for preparing large amount for a pot luck salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2009
Finally! This is the recipe you have been looking for. The dressing is right on target and being able to just shake it in a jar makes it easier. I have also made it with anchovy paste and used raw egg for shortcut and it is great. Thanks so much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Memphis, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Palm Springs, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2009
This recipe is about taste ~ If you are worried about calories or healthy ingredients join Weight watchers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Ledyard, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2009
Needed a few tweaks - substitued 2 tbs sour cream for egg. This recipe is far better than most bottled dressings. Also for my Caesar salads I always add chopped avocado and chopped basil. It adds a refreshing unique taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dining Diva

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Agawam, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: East Granby, Connecticut, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2009
I made this last night because my husband & I both love Caesar salad. I substituted anchovy paste for the actual fish, because neither of us like strong anchovy flavor. It was missing something,& the problem was probably that I needed to add more anchovy paste, which I will do next time I make it. The recipe is definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susan Stone

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cranford, New Jersey, USA
Living In: El Paso, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2009
Okay, I was skeptical. I've been making Caesar Salad since the 1960's, and I never lacked for compliments. Actually, I had quit using a recipe 30 years or so ago, and made it by feel, but there is little difference between the way I did it and this recipe. I had never added Cayenne Pepper, and I don't know that it helped, but it didn't hurt. HOWEVER, I must admit that your croutons beat mine all to pieces. I made croutons in a skillet, with olive oil, for years, but had become lazy and had been using (don't tell anyone!) packaged croutons for the past few years. Well, I have mended my ways. I know your croutons are better than "bought," and I don't remember my skillet ones being any better, so I'm a believer in your method. It's hard for an OLD woman (who will be eligible for Medicare in mere months!) to admit she's been bested, or at the very least EQUALED, and on something she loves like Caesar Salad, but Chef Jeff, YOU THE MAN!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2009
I read the other reviews but still decided to make it exactly as written with no changes. WOW it was salty! Other than the salt, I had wished the dressing was a bit thicker so that it would cling a bit more to the lettuce. I am going to try to make it again tonight and cut the salt back and perhaps add some mayo to make the dressing creamier. The croutons were great though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KANANICOOKS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Worth, Texas, USA
Living In: Sarajevo, Federation Of Bosnia And Herzegovina, Bosnia And Herzegovina

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2009
super easy recipe turned out awesome
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2009
This recipe was good. My husband and I thought it was too salty. Next time I think we will try "experimenting" to find our own likings. Thankyou
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Eagle River, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2009
I don't like giving bad reviews, but this is terrible... Made it last night and we choked it down, but it's bitter and salty. Gonna try to fix what's left, because I love anchovies, but I will probably end up throwing it out. Yes, I followed the recipe, and yes, I have had Caesar salad in some really great restaurants.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 106) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Caesar Salad Supreme

See how to make a classic salad with garlic croutons and a creamy dressing.

Dannon Caesar Salad Supreme

Say hello to nutritious salad dressing without sacrificing taste.

Roquefort Pear Salad

This creamy, tangy salad has a delicious crunch from the pecans.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States