Outrageous Caesar Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2010
A great start for a great Caesar salad. My advice: put all the dressing ingredients into a food processor and blend until a smooth consistency. If you don't, you end up with chunks of anchovies which isn't my cup of tea! Also, omit the salt. There is no reason to add extra salt when you are using anchovies. Thirdly, I used the oil that the anchovies came in to give it a little bit more flavor. I also substitute whichever oil I have on hand instead of safflower oil. The last suggestion I have is to refrigerate the dressing before serving. If it is served at true room temperature it has a slightly strange flaor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Overland Park, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2010
Top notch recipe .....great blend of tart and creamy. I'v e been cooking a long time and have to say I'd never coddled an egg which was easy...interesting touch. I've always used a raw egg. I didn't have any safflower oil so I made this batch with extra virgin olive oil..the only change I made was the oil and I used 4 garlic cloves since I like garlic a lot. But I probably will use 3 cloves next time 4 over powers the dressing somewhat. I also cut the salt back after reading several reviews and since I use the flat anchovies and the oil in the can(not the paste); it worked great. It was also a first to use the mustard power instead of dijon. it was
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Skeeter

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Midland, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2010
I did not care for this. Way too salty and there was no caesar flavor about it. Sorry
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by prudwetz

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Reno, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2010
Tried your recipe, and was impressed. I used my bullet mixer to complete the dressing and it came out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2010
Since the other posters though the written 3/4 tsp of salt on top of the anchovies, parm and Worst. sauce was too salty I used 1/2 tsp....that seemed good/would not want more. I did not have any trouble getting it to be "not runny" cooking the egg as directed and whisking it up mine was not watery. In fact the first time I made it I left the egg in too long/is was more cooked and my dtr. complained it was TOO thick (more like creamy Caesar) after beating. Real Caesar does not have mayo or sour cream in it...beating the egg and oil creates a mayo-ish base though if done right. Since mine came out too thick for my taste with overdoing the egg a bit though...those wanting it thick could do that on purpose. Lacking French bread I used bagel cubes for the croutons and that worked very well for a hearty bread cube.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lancaster, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2010
REALLY yummy!! Definitely making again...tomorrow!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2010
Really enjoyed the recipe and it was easy to make, I had never coddled an egg before but it was very easy! If you use anchovy- I used the paste- I would omit the salt-but other than that it was great. A note to a previous review : Because coddled eggs are not boiled, some people may be concerned of the risk of salmonella and other bacteria. According to the US Dept of Health, cooking at temperature of 72°C/160°F or more is sufficient to kill salmonella, but children, the elderly and persons with compromised immune systems are advised against eating lightly-cooked eggs because of possible under-cooking-found that on 2 websites :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2010
I made this as part of our New Year's Eve dinner and I love Caesar Salad and this ranks up at the top with a few changes that I made. I made this twice...once as directed and again with a few minor changes that makes this FANTASTIC! After reading all of the reviews, I decided to add tiny bacon bits that I made from frying up bacon. I also used the recommended Parmesano Regiano freshly grated cheese...which was fantastic! I initially used anchovy paste and after making the first batch I thought it was way too salty. I omitted the salt altogether and just added VERY LITTLE anchovy paste and it was just enough to give it an authentic flavor. I also threw all of the ingredients in our vitamix to mix it together and added the olive oil a little at a time using mayo instead of egg. I would recommend this to eveyone I know...with these few changes. Everyone loved it! I will use this again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by stacie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2009
I would not make again. Sounded great... Did not taste like a regular Caesar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ritakay8

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Omaha, Nebraska, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2009
I am usually a caesar salad in a bag gal, but I swear unless I am super pressed for time, I will never go back. I didn't use anchovies, and I was a little skeptical about coddling an egg, but it all worked out. Please don't let that disuade (sp?) from trying this recipe. I used olive oil instead of safflower oil, did not use anchovies because i couldn't find them, I used lemon juice from a bottle, and I cannot believe the results. I normally always use more garlice than called for, but in this situation I wouldn't .... Jeff must already love garlic and his measurements are spot on!!! Thanks Jeff...fabulous...whoever put 1 star did something terribly wrong!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 106) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Caesar Salad Supreme

See how to make a classic salad with garlic croutons and a creamy dressing.

Dannon Caesar Salad Supreme

Say hello to nutritious salad dressing without sacrificing taste.

Peach and Escarole Salad

See how to make a delicious salad with sweet peaches and fresh greens.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States