Outback Onion Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2004
Good Soup! Here's some tips that might help. Try GENTLY straining out the onions BEFORE mixing in the flour. Also, after you've mixed your flour paste together, take a little bit of soup from your pot and mix it in with the flour paste to incorporate it a bit before whisking it into the soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2001
This is just like the famous Outback's soup. It's delicious and easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2001
Exactly like the restaurant recipe! My four year old kids loved it as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2002
This is a very tasty recipe! Only problem I had was keeping the flour from lumping up... but was not bad enough to ruin the soup! I will definately make this soup often!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2002
This soup was great - it tasted so close to the soup served at the restaurant. I was very pleased. One thing - it looked like I had waaay too many onions at first - and I was a bit worried about that - but when it was time to serve it, everything came out fine! I used Cheddar and Monterey Jack cheese because I couldn't find the colby-jack blend. I served it in a breadbowl and it was sooo good. Next time, I may try using light cream or something a bit less sinful - just to cut down on the guilt!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Canajoharie, New York, USA
Living In: Nashua, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2002
The flavor was excellent!! But I also had a problem with the flour clumping. So I wisked my onions into shreads. But it didn't ruin the flavor. Next time I will cut the flour in half (or add more water)and if the soup isn't thick enough I will thicken with corn starch. I used 1 cup whipping cream (It's what I had in stock) and I used half chedder cheese and half swiss cheese. (again what I had in stock.) Yummy!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SHEWETT

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Susanville, California, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2003
This recipe is really close to the restaurant version. I got a little excited and didn't take my time, and caused it came out a bit lumpy, but it tasted great! I'll definately make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2003
I have made this same recipe for years, and I can tell you that it does taste like the one at Outback. The only problem is the flour clumping up. The first time I made this my dad told me the "dumplings" were his favorite part of the soup! This also serves more than four.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by amydoll

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rockford, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2004
This is one of the best soups I have ever tasted! I think it tastes even better than the Outback one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2005
Ok,,, This was perfect. Just like my fav at Outback! The Outback near me frequently take this yummy soup off their menu.... Now I have the cure... No need to return! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 92) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

French Onion Soup

Learn how to make this classic, comforting onion soup at home.

Slow Cooker French Onion Soup

A cheesy French onion soup with a comforting beefy broth.

French Onion Soup Gratinee

A filling, satisfying, cheesy onion soup that really warms you up, deliciously.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States