Outback Onion Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2006
I used low sodium beef broth and less flour. I always try to make recipes a little bit healthier. Soup came out good. Will must likely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Englewood Cliffs, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Plantation, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2006
This was so delicious I could have licked the bowl! I did take out the onions before adding flour. Tried to add a little hot liquid to the cold paste as suggested..did not prevent tiny lumps. Also, I don't know that it needs to simmer as long as it says. When I put the onions back in, they disintegrated...it looked like porridge! :) I think next time I will use twice the onions, not cook as long so that they are like strands (like in the restaurant)and/or leave them out until the very end. I used jarred "Better than Bouillion" which really gave it a rich hearty base. This is true comfort food! Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Newport News, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2005
I love Outback's creamy onion soup but this was not it or even remotely like it. It didn't taste bad but the consistency was on the watery side and it just didn't look good. Will not make a nice presentation unless you camoflauge it with a soup topper or something. I will not make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2005
As written, this is totally bland, imo. Apart from thickening the soup with some cornstarch mixed with water - this avoids all the clumps - I followed the recipe exactly. Because I was unhappy with both the flavor and the texture, I whizzed the soup up with a handblender, then added another 2 large sliced onions. I simmered this until the onions were soft, whizzed it a little again so that the soup was semi-chunky, then I added some grated extra-sharp Cheddar. It was ok, but it could have used a ton of extra cream. This was quite a lot of work for rather mediocre results. Thanks, anyway.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caroline C

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Lupton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2005
This soup really does taste like Outback's cream of onion soup. I used about twice the amount of reccomended onions and creamed it with a handheld blender to make it smooth. Truly an onion lover's soup! Tip: This soup does not freeze very well!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2005
First off , you should use the large yellow onions , it has alot to do with the texture and flavor.As far as the clumping of the flour,,to get it just right you need to add a very small amount at a time to prevent this from occuring. I did see a comment above about their Outback taking that soup off the menu occasionally , all you do is call the a day or two before you plan on going and request it and they will make it. I must say though, this is a very good recipe , very good twin of Outbacks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Lumberton, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Canon City, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2005
This is an excellent recipe that I've made many times, with many requests for the recipe. I don't use vidalias, as they are too sweet for this. As far as the clumping flour; remove some of the hot broth to a separate container. Mix in the flour to make a thin paste (use a mixer if necessary). Then add the paste to the soup. This will alleviate the flour lumping.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Elmira, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2005
Tastes good. Would make a few changes for next time. Leave out the flour and use bread or croutons instead and melt some mozzerella cheese over the top of the bowl like in the restaurant. Very tastey.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2005
This was really good, but need to play with it a little. Didn't give off quite as strong of an onion flavor that Outback's does. I used two vidalia onions and might try a vidalia and a white or yellow onion next time to get a stronger onion flavor. The soup was a little more watery than Outback's too, but not a problem. We added a lot more cheese than the amount the recipe calls for, hoping it would thicken it up, but it didn't. Just more cheesy:) Regardless, a great recipe and will be added to my cookbook for sure!! Thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2005
Ok,,, This was perfect. Just like my fav at Outback! The Outback near me frequently take this yummy soup off their menu.... Now I have the cure... No need to return! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 95) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Rich and Simple French Onion Soup

Caramelized onions are infused in a rich broth, topped with bread and cheese.

French Onion Soup Gratinee

A filling, satisfying, cheesy onion soup that really warms you up, deliciously.

French Onion Soup

Learn how to make this classic, comforting onion soup at home.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States