Outback Onion Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2008
So simple to make. The only thing I changed was the cheese as all I had on hand was a bag of the Sargento yellow and white cheddar with bacon. Everyone loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lynn

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Round Hill, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2008
I never had the onion soup at Outback, but this is one of the best soups I've ever had. I made some homemade bread and a salad to go with the soup. My husband loved it. I'm giving some leftovers to my mom tomorrow to help her get over a cold. I followed the recipe to a T. Will make this again and again. Thank you so much! ETA: You can temper the water/flour mixture with about a cup of the hot broth. That should make enough liquid to slowly whisk it in without any lumps. It's wet enough to stir in without breaking up the onions, so no need to remove the onions. Again, great soup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2008
Good solid recipe. I found that it cooked more quickly than the recipe suggested so keep an eye.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Methuen, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Haverhill, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2008
Really great! Tastes very close to Outback's Creamy Onion soup, Yummy! I did add a cup of white cooking wine to the soup (as a few people earlier had recommended, which I think makes it taste more closely like Outback's Creamy Onion soup!) Great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2008
This is an excellent recipe!! I have made this soup for guests who later went to Outback and said that this was actually better. My fiance can't get enough of it. Thank you for our favorite soup recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mommyluvs2cook
Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2008
Okay so this was delicious! The reasoning for the 4 star is b/c the flour water mixture did not work for me. When I first put it in and saw the lumpiness...I was like...okay still have a lot of cook time left..maybe it will unlump more, but it never did. So I ended up spooning out as much of the lumps as I could. The taste of the soup was great but the little doughy lumps added a strange texture that just didnt belong. Next time I will just do w/o the flour water mixture. And to the reviews that said this was bland.... I have have no idea in my right mind what they mean...this was loaded with flavor. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mommyluvs2cook

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Santa Fe, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2008
OMG!!! This is to die for!!! I made this for a soup/sandwich party at work and my husband and I ate the whole thing! I ended making two other soups that were very good, but did'nt hold a candle to this. I can't wait to make this again. This time I'll make a double batch though! LOL If you like creamy soups and onions, you will not disappointed!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Darkgardyner

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2008
This recipe was great. We all loved it. The next day I put the pot back on the stove and let the soup simmer for a couple of hours, the onions were perfectly tender. It's a keeper!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2008
I love this recipe !!!! and so does my husband I will be making it again... Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2008
pretty yummy.........needed something so I added potatoes.....it was a hit. Will use less salt next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 97) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Grilled Burgers For the 4th
Grilled Burgers For the 4th

Check out our collection of almost 200 grilled burger recipes.

Potato Salad On the Side
Potato Salad On the Side

A cookout isn't complete without a big bowl of potato salad. We have hundreds for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Rich and Simple French Onion Soup

Caramelized onions are infused in a rich broth, topped with bread and cheese.

French Onion Soup Gratinee

A filling, satisfying, cheesy onion soup that really warms you up, deliciously.

French Onion Soup

Learn how to make this classic, comforting onion soup at home.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States