Outback Onion Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Photo by mommyluvs2cook
Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2008
Okay so this was delicious! The reasoning for the 4 star is b/c the flour water mixture did not work for me. When I first put it in and saw the lumpiness...I was like...okay still have a lot of cook time left..maybe it will unlump more, but it never did. So I ended up spooning out as much of the lumps as I could. The taste of the soup was great but the little doughy lumps added a strange texture that just didnt belong. Next time I will just do w/o the flour water mixture. And to the reviews that said this was bland.... I have have no idea in my right mind what they mean...this was loaded with flavor. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mommyluvs2cook

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Santa Fe, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2008
OMG!!! This is to die for!!! I made this for a soup/sandwich party at work and my husband and I ate the whole thing! I ended making two other soups that were very good, but did'nt hold a candle to this. I can't wait to make this again. This time I'll make a double batch though! LOL If you like creamy soups and onions, you will not disappointed!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Darkgardyner

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2008
This recipe was great. We all loved it. The next day I put the pot back on the stove and let the soup simmer for a couple of hours, the onions were perfectly tender. It's a keeper!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2008
I love this recipe !!!! and so does my husband I will be making it again... Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2008
pretty yummy.........needed something so I added potatoes.....it was a hit. Will use less salt next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2007
This was a good soup. Not exactly how I remember the one from the Outback restaurant - but good nonetheless. To make it faster I began by sauteeing the onions in a little bit of water to steam them while I prepared the broth. Then I added the onion, the flour mixture and lastly the cream and the cheese. I used slightly less water to compensate for what would have boiled off with all the simmering. By doing it this way, it only took me about 45 minutes start to finish. I also used Pepper Jack cheese to add a little kick to it. Nice soup. Esp with the croutons.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by J

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2007
Was very close to Outback soup. Not exact but almost there.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2007
yum yum I also used wondra flour and make sure to use broth and mix with water and flour to get out lumps before adding to soup..another meal I wont have to order out..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2007
This was very similar to Outback's soup! I made the recipe with just minor changes. I sliced 4 small-med. onions and one really big one, and had too many onions so I added 2 more cups of water & 2 more boullion cubes. I added 1 cup of white cooking wine & left out the salt. I used a bit more cheese & pepper than called for to compensate for the extra liquids. Thickened with cornstarch so it didn't need to simmer so long. Turned out very good & was better the next day! Thanks for the great recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erin

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2007
The soup was good but I did feel it was a bit bland. I added some pepperjack cheese for some extra zip and garlic powder. It turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Serena

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 51-60 (of 92) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

French Onion Soup

Learn how to make this classic, comforting onion soup at home.

Slow Cooker French Onion Soup

A cheesy French onion soup with a comforting beefy broth.

French Onion Soup Gratinee

A filling, satisfying, cheesy onion soup that really warms you up, deliciously.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States