Outback Onion Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2009
We really enjoyed this soup and it was very easy to make. I've never had this at the restaurant so I can't compare it, but I'll definitely make it again. This time I won't cook the onions so long, because I'd rather have them "whole" then actually melt into the soup. I'm also going to try serving it like french onion, with a crouton and sprinkled cheese melted on top. Overall, a wonderful recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful
Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2009
Very good soup. The flour was lumpy but I'll work on that the next time. While not "pretty" it is delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by drogers

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Adamsville, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Chattanooga, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2009
I wouldn't say this is exactly like Outback, but it's a wonderful soup nonetheless. I did skip the whole flour business and thicken w/ cornstarch instead. I also think the next time I make it, I will try adding a little wine to it and see if it gives it a more Outback flavor. Very rich and wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ladybuggs5224
Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2009
Not sure why the mixed reviews on this one. I have never eaten at the place that this is supposed to be a clone of but it is awesome. I did have some problems with the flour mix clumping (I even used ice water for it) but with some elbow grease and a whisk they were gone. I didn't have the right kind of cheese so I used a mix of cheddar and mozzarella. Everyone ended up eating 2 bowls. Its very tasty somewhat rich but on the other hand light. Family will be asking me to make this one again for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ladybuggs5224

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Pueblo, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2009
This was OK, not a soup I'd rush to make again but I will agree with some of the other reviewers - it did taste better the next day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KatieBell

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Liverpool, Merseyside, England, U.K.
Living In: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2009
I have made this recipe countless times and recommended it to many people. To keep onions from disintegrating, cut them thicker, and Simmer not Boil! To stop clumping of flour, incorporate some of the broth with flour paste in separate boil to thin out the paste, and strain out the onions and Whisk vigorously to incorporate; if need be use your stick blender to break up flour clumps. I have successfully made this soup with chicken/beef/vegetable broth and stock, a mixture of red/white/yellow onions, the stronger the onion flavor (i.e. White or Red) the bolder the flavor will be in the end. I have also been thinking of using this recipe with other veggies, like broccoli, cauliflower or asparagus, Whatever is in season at the farmer's market. (Potatoes would need less cook time to keep from becoming mashed potatoes.) Thank you so much for putting up this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kim Ruby

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Ann Arbor, Michigan, USA
Living In: Detroit, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2009
to state that this soup is great is a huge understatement. this is soooooo good. i cant believe it doesnt have more ratings. i cant believe it is not in the hall of fame. let me first state that we have never had this soup at the outback so had nothine to compare it to. i do know that this soup is ssoooosososo good. its kinda reminds us of a old fashion creamy onion soup but soooooo good and cheesy. you have to love onions to like this one. a for sure keeper. the only thing i did differant from what the recipe states is i added milk to thin it out a little. thank you thank you thank you a for sure keeper
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by millertime

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2009
Simply Wonderful...maybe just a tad salty...but still delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Andrea

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2009
This soup was delicious!..like everyone said, if you mix the flour and water separately, THEN add some of the broth to the paste and stir, THEN mix it into the soup it will not be lumpy. I also added potatoes to it and it was fab! Thank you again..a staple in my kitchen!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by yummyinmytummy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2009
A most excellent clone. I went for a little healthier mix and used 2% milk and low sodium beef broth to reduce fat and sodium and it was still first-rate. I also reduced the cooking time from 1:30 to about 1:15, the onions were plenty done so next time I'll drop it to about an hour. Big thanks to the original poster for this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 94) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Rich and Simple French Onion Soup

Caramelized onions are infused in a rich broth, topped with bread and cheese.

French Onion Soup Gratinee

A filling, satisfying, cheesy onion soup that really warms you up, deliciously.

French Onion Soup

Learn how to make this classic, comforting onion soup at home.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States