Outback Onion Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2011
Mine didn't clump at all, and it was fantastic. I used half and half fat free (for my diet), and it worked out perfect. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2011
This was a very good soup. I haven't had the soup from outback so I can't say how it is in comparison. I used half and half instead of cream that is why I gave this 5 stars, with the half and half it was more of a 4 star soup. I mixed the flour with the 1/2 cup of water and a scoop of soup in a blender, turned out perfect. I increased the heat from a simmer to a medium-high heat before putting the cheese in to make sure it melted. Overall a delicious soup that is definitely worth making again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2011
I just made this soup tonight for dinner. Flavor-wise, I would rate it 5 stars--it was quite yummy! Appearance-wise, I'd only give it 1 star. Many others have mentioned this--the onions nearly cook to nothing if you cook them as long as listed. I cooked mine half the time and I still couldn't stir the soup enough to blend in the cheese. It still tasted yummy--just didn't have the nice, consistent appearance I'd like to have.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Andrea

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Odon, Indiana, USA
Living In: Wauseon, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2011
this was pretty good....not the best soup but worth another try
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by blueyedkids

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2010
I absolutely LOVE this soup! We had a snow day today and this was the perfect thing to make. I added one spoonful of the flour mixture to the broth and it immediately clumped and so like others recommended, I added some broth to the mixture before adding the rest. I still whisked it a lot though, as I prefer the onion in smaller pieces so didn't mind them falling apart. I also cut down the original simmer time to about 40 minutes, adding the salt and pepper after about 10. This may be my favorite soup ever and will be making this often! Also - I used 6 extra large bouillon cubes - instead of 8 large, which I think is about the same amount or slightly less.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2010
A very good onion soup recipe although I made a few changes due to the amount of bullion, I will not add as much salt and after reading a review that it turned out thick I omitted the flour since whipping cream has the same effect as the flour. And it was just fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2010
OMG!!! this soup is absolutely orgasmic....I am totally impressed.....I am very impatient so I kept tasting it before adding the cream and wasnt really loving it...but when you add the cream the flavors really blend in nicely and it is incredible. Keeping true to my cooking style I doubled the recipe, used twice the amount of onions. added 5 garlic cloves, a good bunch of cilantro and a couple of bay leaves. Many reviews I read say it doesnt need the long simmering time.. I added quite a few extra ingredients so the long cooking time really helped the flavours be released into a wonderful creamy broth. Very rich and luxurious. Thank you so much for sharing this recipe. It will definetly be a regular meal in my house from now on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs.WeinnerBlowers

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Aurora, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2010
Very Good soup! I also had problems with the onions breaking up, and the soup getting lumpy. To fix, I made a rue, melted 2tbs butter and whisked in 2tbs flour, let it cook for a few min and then added the cream. I gradually whisked that mixture into the soup. For the onions, I sauteed them in seperate pan and then put them in after I added the rue mixture and simmered 30 min extra, made a wonderful difference!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2010
Absolutely love this recipe! At first it was much too salty for us and I couldn't figure out why I was the only reviewer who thought so. Turns out, I was using the wrong size beef cubes. The ones I used were twice the size of what should be used. I had been using those cubes for years and just assumed they were standard. Anyway, perfect recipe, but I just add a touch more cheese becasue my family likes it cheesy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2010
I have had the soup at the Outback, and this is quite similar, however, I would suggest using low-sodium boullion. The only fault I had with the recipe is that it as waaay too salty. Also, to address two issues from other reviewers: to keep the onions from dissolving, yes, simmer and do not boil them, but also, just quarter the onions, do not slice them thinly; regarding the clumpy flour issue: as others have suggested, slowly add broth from the cooking soup until you have it as smooth as you can get it, then stick it in a blender, or a 'magic bullet' to puree out the rest of the lumps. Stir it gently back into the pot. Smooth as silk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 92) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

French Onion Soup

Learn how to make this classic, comforting onion soup at home.

Slow Cooker French Onion Soup

A cheesy French onion soup with a comforting beefy broth.

French Onion Soup Gratinee

A filling, satisfying, cheesy onion soup that really warms you up, deliciously.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States