Outback Onion Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2014
OMG- This.Is.Magical! I added chopped carrot & potatoes b/c I needed to use them up, & WOW! It really tastes like Outback Soup! Will make this a regular dish for the cooler seasons. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Largo, Florida, USA
Living In: Garner, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2014
Just made this and was delicious. I had to make a couple of changes, used whole milk because i did not have heavy cream and i used sharp cheddar for same reason. Never had outback onion soup, but this was delicious. Will definately make again, who knows might try with the heavy cream and colby jack cheese the next time. Give it a whirl, it is fast and simple enough!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2013
I took the advice of a number of reviewers, and it was gone in one day, despite my making a double batch. I did saute the onions and leave them on the side until about 20 minutes til the end. I cut the simmering time in half. I mixed the flour with the soup base, then added back. Added the cheese and heavy cream, and voila. Disappearing soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2013
Very easy to make and I would likely make it again. Husband rated it a 5.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Troy, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2013
Tried this recipe tonight. I did a few things different then what was written. Here is what I did. 1 Quart of water 4 beef bouillon 2 Large Yellow Onions (sliced) 2-3 Medium Baked Potatoes (mashed) 1 tsp. Garlic Salt 2 garlic Cloves (mashed) 1/2 cup of Sharp cheater cheese 1 cup of Monterey Jack cheese 1/2 a cup of Heavy Whipping Cream 1/2 a cup of Sour Cream 1/4 a cup of Whole milk 3/4 a cup of White flour Bake your potatoes and mash them. (I do this a day before so I have less work when I am making the soup) Put aside. Heat Water up in soup pot with bouillon and salt, as the water is heating cut up your onions and garlic. Place your onion, garlic and potatoes in pot and boil for 30min. As the mixture is boiling Shred your cheeses. Then in a mixing bowl Add your cream, sour cream, whole milk and flour and mix until smooth. Add the Milk mixture to your soup and simmer for 30min. A good side is garlic bread. Should only take you an hour and ten minutes. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2013
I added chantrelle mushrooms & broccoli to the soup during the onion boiling stage. I added 3/4 cup of orozo and used a can of condenced milk instead of heavy cream. It was absolutely awesome
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by coldbluegrace

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Centralia, Washington, USA
Living In: Gig Harbor, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2013
I always use chicken stock when I make this. I also only use 1 1/2 quarts of liquid. I add more pepper and salt, I also throw in some thyme, oregano, and rosemary. I add extra onions and use a little more flour and cheese too :D Basically I don't use this recipe. It's just reminder I suppose.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2013
I have never been compelled to write a review but until now I have never been this disappointed with a recipe. This soup was the most disgusting thing I have ever attempted from this website. It was a complete mess with clumps and it taste like beef broth and flour paste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2012
This did not work for me. I made as stated in the recipe. I was concerned about using beef broth for this soup and should have gone with my gut. The flavor was just wrong and the color was horrible.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Life Tastes Good

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2011
Good Flavor. Check other reviewer notes for how to do it without breaking up the onions and how to break up lumps.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by justynajd

Displaying results 1-10 (of 93) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

French Onion Soup Gratinee

A filling, satisfying, cheesy onion soup that really warms you up, deliciously.

French Onion Soup

Learn how to make this classic, comforting onion soup at home.

Slow Cooker French Onion Soup

A cheesy French onion soup with a comforting beefy broth.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States