Outback Onion Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2005
This is an excellent recipe that I've made many times, with many requests for the recipe. I don't use vidalias, as they are too sweet for this. As far as the clumping flour; remove some of the hot broth to a separate container. Mix in the flour to make a thin paste (use a mixer if necessary). Then add the paste to the soup. This will alleviate the flour lumping.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Elmira, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2005
First off , you should use the large yellow onions , it has alot to do with the texture and flavor.As far as the clumping of the flour,,to get it just right you need to add a very small amount at a time to prevent this from occuring. I did see a comment above about their Outback taking that soup off the menu occasionally , all you do is call the a day or two before you plan on going and request it and they will make it. I must say though, this is a very good recipe , very good twin of Outbacks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Lumberton, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Canon City, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2006
This was so delicious I could have licked the bowl! I did take out the onions before adding flour. Tried to add a little hot liquid to the cold paste as suggested..did not prevent tiny lumps. Also, I don't know that it needs to simmer as long as it says. When I put the onions back in, they disintegrated...it looked like porridge! :) I think next time I will use twice the onions, not cook as long so that they are like strands (like in the restaurant)and/or leave them out until the very end. I used jarred "Better than Bouillion" which really gave it a rich hearty base. This is true comfort food! Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Newport News, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2007
This was delicious!!! The only thing I changed is replaced the flour with wondra. I tried the flour and it was like glue and did not get smooth, I ended up scooping all the lumps out then using wondra. Next time I might try light cream as well, less calories
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2004
Good Soup! Here's some tips that might help. Try GENTLY straining out the onions BEFORE mixing in the flour. Also, after you've mixed your flour paste together, take a little bit of soup from your pot and mix it in with the flour paste to incorporate it a bit before whisking it into the soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2007
This was very similar to Outback's soup! I made the recipe with just minor changes. I sliced 4 small-med. onions and one really big one, and had too many onions so I added 2 more cups of water & 2 more boullion cubes. I added 1 cup of white cooking wine & left out the salt. I used a bit more cheese & pepper than called for to compensate for the extra liquids. Thickened with cornstarch so it didn't need to simmer so long. Turned out very good & was better the next day! Thanks for the great recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erin

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2010
I have had the soup at the Outback, and this is quite similar, however, I would suggest using low-sodium boullion. The only fault I had with the recipe is that it as waaay too salty. Also, to address two issues from other reviewers: to keep the onions from dissolving, yes, simmer and do not boil them, but also, just quarter the onions, do not slice them thinly; regarding the clumpy flour issue: as others have suggested, slowly add broth from the cooking soup until you have it as smooth as you can get it, then stick it in a blender, or a 'magic bullet' to puree out the rest of the lumps. Stir it gently back into the pot. Smooth as silk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2005
I love Outback's creamy onion soup but this was not it or even remotely like it. It didn't taste bad but the consistency was on the watery side and it just didn't look good. Will not make a nice presentation unless you camoflauge it with a soup topper or something. I will not make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2010
Very Good soup! I also had problems with the onions breaking up, and the soup getting lumpy. To fix, I made a rue, melted 2tbs butter and whisked in 2tbs flour, let it cook for a few min and then added the cream. I gradually whisked that mixture into the soup. For the onions, I sauteed them in seperate pan and then put them in after I added the rue mixture and simmered 30 min extra, made a wonderful difference!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2006
This was not what I was expecting. It was tasting wonderful, but as soon as I added the heavy cream it turned into a pasty, thick, mess. It was tolerable, but I won't make it again. I do think that the recipe, up until the cream was good and I am sure I would have liked it that way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Connor'sMomma

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: La Grange, Illinois, USA
Living In: Lafayette, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 92) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

French Onion Soup

Learn how to make this classic, comforting onion soup at home.

Slow Cooker French Onion Soup

A cheesy French onion soup with a comforting beefy broth.

French Onion Soup Gratinee

A filling, satisfying, cheesy onion soup that really warms you up, deliciously.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States