Outback Onion Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2009
Someone gave me a bag of onions and I didn't know what to do with them, so I found this recipe. My husband and I couldn't believe how delicious it was! I definitely plan to make it again! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Medina, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2009
This was good but too much pepper. Make sure you start out with less and add as you like it. Also, the flour mixture didn't work for me either. The next time I made it I used hot instead of cold water and it worked fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2009
Cheap and easy! I would add a little more cheese next time! Makes a lot!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2009
Tonight I made comfort food and it was delicious. Along with Broccoli Cheese Soup V, I made Outback Onion. I didn't know what to expect for the taste because I have never had this at the restaurant. I imagined it would taste like beef broth but far from it. It has a very cheesy flavor and a mild onion flavor. My husband and I both really enjoyed this recipe. I would definately recommend this one. I did have a problem whisking in the flour. I followed the suggestion of using the warm broth. But I don't know if I had a completely smooth soup? It's hard to tell with the onions. So beware.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ASERGEANTSWIFE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Temecula, California, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2009
Much better then I thought it would be. Was looking for different soup recipes and thought this would be good to try. I made some homemade croutons for the top. It made the meal amazing! Kids even loved this. I was surprised. Will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ANGELASEELY

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Alvarado, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2008
So simple to make. The only thing I changed was the cheese as all I had on hand was a bag of the Sargento yellow and white cheddar with bacon. Everyone loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lynn

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Round Hill, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2008
I never had the onion soup at Outback, but this is one of the best soups I've ever had. I made some homemade bread and a salad to go with the soup. My husband loved it. I'm giving some leftovers to my mom tomorrow to help her get over a cold. I followed the recipe to a T. Will make this again and again. Thank you so much! ETA: You can temper the water/flour mixture with about a cup of the hot broth. That should make enough liquid to slowly whisk it in without any lumps. It's wet enough to stir in without breaking up the onions, so no need to remove the onions. Again, great soup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2008
Good solid recipe. I found that it cooked more quickly than the recipe suggested so keep an eye.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Methuen, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Haverhill, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2008
Really great! Tastes very close to Outback's Creamy Onion soup, Yummy! I did add a cup of white cooking wine to the soup (as a few people earlier had recommended, which I think makes it taste more closely like Outback's Creamy Onion soup!) Great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2008
This is an excellent recipe!! I have made this soup for guests who later went to Outback and said that this was actually better. My fiance can't get enough of it. Thank you for our favorite soup recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 92) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

French Onion Soup

Learn how to make this classic, comforting onion soup at home.

Slow Cooker French Onion Soup

A cheesy French onion soup with a comforting beefy broth.

French Onion Soup Gratinee

A filling, satisfying, cheesy onion soup that really warms you up, deliciously.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States